You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Journal, End of June Community Garden Plot Report

in HiveGarden3 years ago

I've been thinking about straw bale beds, not least because they're raised up. I thought they would be a good intermediary for some parts of the garden where I would like to grow vegetables but haven't got to organising yet.

Borage is a really pretty plant, I love to see it.

Sort:  

Another thing about using straw bales for growing veggies is that you can compost them in the fall after the end of the growing season, and then add that compost to the regular garden the next year. You could also use the compost to fill a raised bed.

 3 years ago  

Yes, great ideas - I have a terraced patch and the back where I am gradually improving the soil each year. I like the way straw bales break down over time, fulfilling lots of roles on the way.