Delightful Green Vegetables at School

in HiveGarden10 months ago

"Our bodies are our garden - our wills are our gardeners." William Shakespeare

Let me take this opportunity to share with you my amazing work as a teacher, not only educating our children, but I am taking care of various other tasks, like tending to the garden and providing food during feeding time.

IMG20230814134025.jpg

Today, I am excited to show you the vegetables we have been nurturing at our school. We put a lot of effort to sustain these plants, as they are used for feeding purposes. Some of the harvest is given to the hardworking children who help cultivate the soil in the garden. And at times, we enjoy them for our lunch.

IMG20230807163102.jpg

IMG20230807163533.jpg

The Leafy Vegetables

Our garden features alugbati and kangkong, as they are easily grown and do not attract many insects. We take pride in the fact that our garden is purely organic, using only animal manure as fertilizer.

The benefits we derive from these vegetables are numerous, which is why we continue to cultivate our garden and plant in different varieties.

In moments when we lack a main dish for lunch, we turn to the alugbati and kangkong from our garden. Everyone gathers around the table and shares a meal, solving our lunchtime dilemma.

IMG20230807163440.jpg

IMG20230814134222.jpg

Isn't it delightful for the next batch of eggplants? They've been growing strong for a remarkable 6 months now. Our weekly harvests never fail to bring us joy, unless, of course, we wait for the perfect time to pluck them from the vine.

One of our favorite menus is an eggplant omelet (tortang along)! Truly a lunchtime masterpiece. Even without eggs, a simple slice with a hint of soy sauce does the trick. With these delightful treats on our plates, our bellies are always content and brimming with happiness.

IMG20230804081256.jpg

Lady's Fingers (Okra)

Now, let's move on to our beloved okra. It's a breeze to cultivate, requiring less effort and care. We can simply plant it straight into the soil and watch it flourish. I understand that not all children have a fondness for the taste of okra, but we must instill in their minds the incredible health benefits this vegetable offers.

From aiding digestion to regulating blood sugar levels, okra is truly a nutritional powerhouse. There are countless ways to prepare this versatile vegetable - it can be added to a hearty vegetable soup, or incorporated into a flavorful fish dish like in. unit in the classic Filipino dish, pinakbet. Let's embrace the wonders of okra and savor its goodness.

IMG20230706113246.jpg

These amazing climbing vegetables, namely beans, bitter gourd, and sponge gourd, gracefully hang from the trellis crafted with care from a small piece of wood. The vibrant fruits dangle invitingly, making it effortless for us to pluck the wholesome harvest.

IMG20230814133949.jpg

As part of our daily routine, we joyfully inspect our garden every afternoon after class. The dedicated children eagerly take charge, watering and tending to the flourishing plants. It fills us with great pride to witness these industrious pupils carrying gallons of water to nurture our green paradise.

During Feeding Time

IMG20230805105030.jpg

On occasion, we are fortunate enough to nourish ourselves with the bountiful produce from our very own garden. Since I teach higher grades (grade 6) where many children are already proficient in cooking at home, they take charge of gathering all the necessary ingredients for a delightful vegetable soup.

Throughout their culinary journey, I closely supervise their efforts, ensuring a delectable outcome. As the finishing touch, I add a pinch of salt and a dash of seasoning to truly enhance the flavors. This delectable creation is best enjoyed during lunchtime, so everyone should remember to bring their small bowls to savor this nourishing soup.

What we served in school may not be the most enticing for other children, but for us, it is perfectly satisfying for our tummies. We understand that this food provides us with the nourishment our bodies need.

IMG20230329144042.jpg

I always encourage other children who are hesitant about eating vegetable soup to give it a try. I consistently remind them of the benefits that come with consuming this type of food. Gradually, they begin to gasp the notion and take small steps, like sipping the soup first before diving into the vegetables.

Some of the children preference for instant foods, preservatives, and salty snacks. As a teacher, it is my responsibility to guide and monitor my students, as I want to ensure their well-being and prevent any illnesses.

By showing love to your children at home and school, they will reciprocate that love. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, and I hope you have a wonderful day filled with happiness and warmth.

Sort:  

Hmm, this is my first time of hearing that teachers can give out some farm produce to hard working students because they helped in cultivating the soil. Wow. That's impressive. If such thing could be done here in my country, I can't imagine how excited both students and parents would be.

The farm you're nurturing is flourishing

Hi there marajah, thank you for taking your time with my blog. My vision is to give happiness to my children. People in your country can have it too.

I wish. But, I doubt.

have a gardening hobby developed together with your students. remarkable. I am also a teacher who likes gardening. Pleased to meet you

I am happy to know that you are reading my blog, thank you for your time @tomidiwirja

I admired how you fed the learners with nutritious veggies from your garden.

Keep it up! I'm pretty sure they love it.

Awwwn, you share the produce with your students. You are a generous teacher! Welldone.
I love your garden. It's so greenish and attractive.

Thank you so much sumptous, my pupils are just like my own children. I treat them equally🥰 I like your inspiring words relating to my blog.

It's my pleasure viewing this garden and I'm surprised and impressed to know you have okra in your garden ,I was thinking it only exist here in Nigeria,

Keep up go the good work

This is one of my favorites, delicious and nutritious.

Hello there afterglow, are you a vegan person? Your name sound like you really loves eating vegetable.

I love vegetables, majority of what I eat is vegetables, I think I am going to say that I am a 70%-80% vegan person (^_^).

Thank you for dropping by and have a nice day ahead.

The pupils are happily eating the vegetables that they taking care of.

Congratulations @simplybil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 1