Magic at Nightfall

in HiveGarden4 months ago

When night falls the world that we know takes on a different hue and character all together. For some nightfall brings a sense of fear and anxiety, for others it is pure beauty and romance. Stepping into my garden when the sun was getting ready to set one winter evening I lay myself on the bench propped up with silken pillows and a warm cashmere shawl lightly covering my body. I watched transfixed as golden rays of the sun transformed my garden into pure gold. The yellow frangipani on the tree nearby looked like it was sculpted out of gold, only it fresh lemony fragrance gave it away.

As sun was lazily immersing himself into the westward sky, dark clouds from below engulfed the sun in a quick motion. The yellow and orange tinges in the sky now gave way to the rose-gold hue. Before long the sky wore a deep blue gown with glittering diamonds on it.

As if the scene was set just for her, lady moon rode in regally on the clouds. The night owl whistled rowdily on her arrival, the crickets rubbed their legs in glee and squealed out in unison as if singing a song of praise for their queen.

The jasmine as if on cue sent a waft of intoxicating perfume, which now blended with the perfume of bread flowers, the night queen and frangipani in my garden. I have had perfumers blend some unique perfumes for me before, but this exotic mix had me feeling giddy, my heart became light and a smile from deep within fixed itself on my face. My eyes closed I greedily took in deep breaths to enjoy this perfume blended by nature. It made me feel like I was sixteen once again. The music that came from the owls and the crickets blended with the song in my heart making me want to dance like I've never danced before. Nonetheless, I didn't dare to move for the fear of breaking the magic of the moment.

The night blooming waterlily had just opened her petals to absorb the beauty of the moon. Her pale yellow petals covered in the pearly light from heaven made her shimmer like freshly polished silver. In her pride she often looked at herself in the clear reflection in the still waters below. She knew that there was no competition for her in the garden she was the queen of the night. The tiny periwinkles which shone like stars earlier were now bowing their heads in shame as if they knew that were no match for the silvery queen of the night.

Just at that moment the mint and patchouli decided to jump into the fray. The musky, woody yet sweet aroma of the patchouli filled the night air with her intoxicating scent. Mr.Peppermint refused to stand on the sidelines and accept defeat, he then emanated his pure, fresh and invigorating scent. The air now blended yet another exotic perfume, a bold, spicy, yet sweet smelling perfume of leaves and flowers the world had never experienced before.

The cheerfulness in my heart now gave way to deep tranquility. I opened my eyes and looked heavenward, there were fireflies all around me. They twinkled like earth stars weaving in and out of my sight. It was as if there was a magic spell put on my garden. The moon seemed to resent these tiny stars that grabbed my attention and strode gloriously into my presence wearing a gossamer shawl around her rounded shoulders adding to her exquisite beauty and majesty.

There was a heavenly calm all around me, it was as if I had become one with the elements and floated in the sweet experience of nightfall around me. Was this the way to transcend beyond the deary world into the realm of the heavenly? I don't know. However, I did feel a peace like I had never felt before. The magic of the silvery night, the visual beauty of the blooms around me, the fragrance of the flowers blending a perfume of ecstasy in the still night air, the duets of the crickets and the owls and the light display put on by the fireflies took me to another realm far from this humdrum world I lived by day.

Was I here on earth or was I transported into another realm I don't know. All I knew then was I never wanted to come back to reality. The enchanting world at nightfall was a treat to my senses. I felt like I'd opened the mystical portals and stepped into a fascinating new world I had never seen before. Then the cold December air hit me making me shiver bringing me rudely back to this world.

This is my entry for the #creativegarden challenge. A fun challenge you are welcome to participate in, you need not be a gardener to join this challenge. Check this link for more information.

Sort:  

Yesterday I was at a house looking for vicaria plants. That's what those pretty flowers are called here. I have a neighbor who has a big yard full of vicarias. I asked her for some to give to a friend who loves the flowers. Especially the white ones are a remedy for sick eyes and it refreshes and heals them.

 4 months ago  

I know they are called by various names Madagascar periwinkle, vinca etc . Here they are mostly called vinca and they come in various colors.
I only know them as a cancer remedy, thanks for this extra information. I checked it out on Google and happy to add this to my knowledge about vincas.
Thanks for stopping by @yanerkidiaz . Have a great day!

Ohh are they a remedy for cancer? I did not know how interesting! I am going to look for information also I will show you my neighbor's vicarias which are fabulous. Thank you for your attention

 4 months ago  

Yes they are, many of the cancer drugs are made from elements isolated from these plants.
Here people eat the leaves 2-3 a day. It is very bitter and it is also considered good for those with diabetes.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sofs-su.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 4 months ago  

thank you

 4 months ago  

Wow, @sofs-su - you just are writing so well! It's so beautifully written - I could imagine myself there, breathing in the scent of your enchanted garden.

The yellow frangipani on the tree nearby looked like it was sculpted out of gold, only it fresh lemony fragrance gave it away.

What gorgeous lines you write! I wish I had time to do one myself. That's it for the year now - we'll do more in the new year, and I can't wait to read more of your beautiful work!

 4 months ago  

Thank you @riverflows for the compliment.
It's easy to employ these tools as they are a reflection of what you feel deep inside.
I understand, I myself may not be hanging around Hive too much in the coming days. It's the busiest time of the year for everyone I guess.
Happy Holidays and greetings of the season.
Have a lovely time. See you soon.