Starting a garden Post #14

in HiveGarden β€’ 2 years ago

marigold

Welcome to my Starting a garden blog Post #14 πŸ‘‹. First the flowers πŸ΅οΈπŸ™‚. New in the garden this week, marigolds are blooming!

yellow_marigold

We planted lots of marigolds that we started from seeds. They are just catching up to the ones you can buy at the store and pop in the ground. Note to self: start marigolds earlier next year.

purple_raspberry

Lots of lovely purple raspberry plants all around on the edge of the forest. No raspberries yet but I am watching so I can beat the birds and bears πŸ˜…

sunflower_6_25_22

My sunflowers continue to be the best of the garden so far.

sunflower_6_25_22b

Lots of sunflowers in various stages around the garden and some flower beds.

sunflower_orchard

My wife has started calling this our sunflower orchard. The sunflowers are now as tall as she is πŸ˜‚

fleabane

Some fleabane is blooming in the wild parts of our property.

almost_daisy

I was hoping this daisy would open in time for this weeks post but I guess it needs another day or two.

white_phlox

Bargain of the week 🚨: we found perrenials on sale for $1 per plant! We picked up these phlox.

phlox

And 25 other plants πŸ˜‰ Bee balm, black eyed-susans, cone flowers everything that still looked healthy.

On to the gardening proper part of the blog...

over_fence

The garden is growing like crazy. Every morning is exciting to see the progress. We got a little carried away germinating seeds and planted too many plants to really fit in our beds.

cucumbers

My project this week was building a little trellis for the cucumbers. We have been encouraging them to grow over the side of the bed and this will give them some support. Its like an expansion of the bed, free space 😁 I used some 3ft high welded wire fencing and tree branches I found in the woods for the poles. I attached the bottom of the fencing to the side of the bed then wired the poles and fencing together at the top. It came out way sturdier than I expected and way sturdier than it looks haha

Other garden updates:

tomato_blossom

Tomatoes are blooming.

tomato

And putting on fruit.

zucchini

Zucchini are also blooming and putting on tiny zucchinis.

mint

We finally got some mint to come up but more importantly, the pattern of waterdrops on the leaves is really cool 😊

Around the orchard...

pear

We have one tiny pear lol

No apples this year. Hopefully next year. The apple trees did not really properly bloom.

crabapples

Lots of crabapples. Maybe we will try to make some jelly but most likely we will just leave for birds.

honeysuckle

Speaking of birds, the honeysuckle at the edge of the woods has bright red berries and right on cue, the cedar wax wings showed up and started feasting.

cedar_wax_wing

Not a great photo but I think I will try and get a better one for #featheredfriends. I'm a little worried about my raspberries and blueberries. I may need to invest in some bird netting. But thats for another day.

Thanks for visiting my post πŸ™ Have a great week!

And keep on trucking... lol

trucking

(we stopped to act as crossing guards for this snapping turtle on the way home yeasterday)

Sort: Β 

The plants and flowers are doing so great @steven-patrick
Beautiful to see it all grow and evolve.
The trellis is such a great way to help them…
Have a wonderful evening and enjoy the garden πŸ‘‹πŸ»πŸ˜β˜€οΈ

Trellis was fun to build. I'll post some photos as the cucumbers climb up it. I still need to build something for the raspberries. Thanks for checking out my post πŸ™

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Cool looking forward to it 😁😎

I always had a little tunnel over them with netting. So the birds and other wildlife can’t get to it.
You are welcome πŸ‘‹πŸ»

Yay! πŸ€—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steven-patrick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Oh, you have beautiful flowers and plants in your garden! πŸ‘πŸŒΏπŸ‘

Thanks music-nature. Its our first year building this garden. We are having a great time πŸ™‚

Having a garden is beautiful! Enjoy it 😍

I see the waxwings are going for the candy fruit, I forget the name of that berry plant, but its basically like eating candy for birds. Snapper probably just got back from laying eggs somewhere.

I have some other snapper pictures I haven't gotten around to posting. They are quite common crossing the road here this time of year. Interesting watching the waxwings, when I was in California we would watch a big group of them descend on a tree and pick it clean. Big loud social event. Here I have seen groups of only a few maybe 3 to 6 at a time. Maybe just because those red berries are all over. No scarcity here. Btw I just got an avalanche of votes from you πŸ™ 🀩 I appreciate your support.

You really have things going on in your garden to attract even the birds :) Wonderful blooms! Good luck with the rest of the garden.

Thanks leeart πŸ™‚ We are working on attracting pollenators with the blooms. We are a little concerned about our vegetables getting pollenated. In fact my wife has been manually pollenating the squash/pumpkins/zucchini/cucumbers. I think she is going a little overboard but I guess better safe than sorry.

Oh, I see. I remember seeing lots of bees back then when we use to garden in our backyard but I don't see much of them now. Maybe we should plant more flowers then :D

I love seeing how your garden is doing. What a great deal on the perennials!
All the berry flowers around here are white. I have never seen purple raspberry flowers. They almost look like roses.
I paid a dollar each for the 4 zucchini that I got in my grocery order today. Prices are shocking and I am so envious of your garden.

There are two type of raspberries here. The white flower one like you are familar with and the purple raspberries that do look a lot like wild roses. Hopefully I will have some raspberry photos soon. We harvested a zucchini yesterday! Our seeds we used were mostly a collection of saved seeds and free seeds from the town library. Apparently the zucchini are round zucchini. πŸ€”

Round zucchini. I don't see them often, but they are much nicer for stuffed zucchini recipes!