Spring Garden Update & Mulching - by Sunscape

in HiveGarden20 days ago

hivegarden-mulch-spring-flowers-10.jpg

We had a lot of nice warm weather this past week, but now three solid days of rain. It was a great chance to get many gardens top-dressed with the leaf compost. The perennial flowers have already emerged, and getting the beds done was essential.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-.jpg

This is the butterfly and hummingbird garden. Once the nights warm up I will add all the annual flowers. The coleus, salvia, zinnias, snapdragons, and impatiens are all growing in the greenhouse.

hivegarden-flowers-3.jpg

The hellebores are still in full flower while the candytuft, bluebells, and rock cress are just beginning to burst with color.

hivegarden-flowers-4.jpg

When the daffodils bloom I grab the camera and can't help but take their photos. Here are the few varieties that I have in my gardens.

hivegarden-spring-flowers-1.jpg

It is hard to choose a favorite, but I love the white and tangerine daffodil.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-flowers-d.jpg

The pile of leaf mulch is slowly getting smaller. My husband and I have been spreading it all week long. Now that it has been raining we had a chance to give our backs a much-needed break.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-a.jpg

I love this cedar tree in the raised bed near our driveway. It has interesting bark and the tiniest little pinecones.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-cedar.jpg

All the cabbage plants and the Spanish onions are underneath the insect netting. Cabbage moths are abundant in our area, and I am not letting them lay eggs on my brassicas this year.

hivegarden-insect-netting.jpg

The 50 hard-neck garlic bulbs I planted last fall are doing well.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-c.jpg

The tower gardens are outside now since the greenhouse was getting too warm for lettuce and spinach.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-1.jpg

I ended up harvesting all the spinach and lettuce in the hydroponics. Yesterday I started Arugula seedlings in one of the tubs. The next round of lettuce seedlings I have started will all be planted outside. When the days get cooler towards fall, I can start the hydroponics up again.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-flowers-9.jpg

The pink Candytuft along the sidewalk is in full bloom and the honeybees are gathering the pollen.

This post is getting long, and I hope you are having fun preparing your spring gardens for planting as much as I am. Happy gardening everyone.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

😍😍😍😍😍

 20 days ago  

Hi Denisse, thank you! ♥

Hello dear Sunscape, how have you been?

 20 days ago  

I am very well sweetie. I hope you and your mom are doing well, be sure to send her my love. ♥

I will be giving your greetings. She always asks me about you!❤️

Oh, your gardens are already looking so good! Love that candytuft!

 20 days ago  

I love the candytuft too. The gardens are coming along. My onions are sending up new shoots and I am watching videos on creating my own natural fertilizer. I found two men on YouTube, Garden Like a Viking and Zen Garden Oasis. I like a lot of their methods and will be implementing many of them this year.

I hope you are not getting all the rain we are as my pond and back yard are flooded right now. Ugh! I guess better than snow. ;-)

Yup, we sure are! And more for the next day or so…

The bee is busy with nectar and with weather warm from the Sun, they should be in their best element.
The garden is indeed looking so colourful .
Mulching is to protect the plants from the heat, yeah?

 20 days ago  

Yes, the mulch helps keep the soil moist from the heat and it also breaks down and supplies nutrients to the soil. Soon the gardens will be bursting with color. Thank you for commenting.

You are welcome.

"How well does my garden grow" comes to mind with green fingers, right timing what a massive difference within a few weeks.

Tangerine daffodil is so impressive I have never seen this shade before, most your blooms are so different to what we enjoy, always a pleasure visiting and seeing more.

@tipu curate

 20 days ago  

I always love seeing your botanicals too. Sometimes I wish I could grow your tropicals to enjoy. But, they would have to come inside and well, we know there is only so much room in ones home for plants. lol

Indoor plants were never as happy as they are now in the garden. Each region offers beauty the other cannot sustain perhaps good reason for the insects and birds.

You have a beautiful garden @sunscape the flowers of your plants are very pretty, I like to see the bees on the petals, but I am very afraid of them

 20 days ago  

Awe, thank you so much. You should not be afraid of the bees. If you let them alone they will leave you alone. I have so many in my gardens and enjoy watching and photographing them. Thanks for stopping by my post today.

You have an amazing garden, and the flowers bloom like happiness.

 19 days ago  

Thank you so much!

Yes, surely it is lovely? when it flaunts and builds in every tree and bush!

 19 days ago  

Yes, it surely is lovely. thank you!

You are doing a great job in the garden incorporating fertilizer, it is good that a few days of rain have fallen, a blessing for your plants, and an excuse to rest your back
Although it is worth the fatigue and pain to see the beautiful flowers in the garden, dear friend @sunscape
Enjoy and rest the weekend