Time To Cold Frame Some Plants

in HiveGarden2 years ago

We have gone from warm, sunny days to gloomy, rainy ones but no worries for the passionate gardener. This is the perfect time to plant out some of the seedlings from the greenhouse that can handle the cooler nighttime temperatures.

Cold Frame


IMGP6207.JPG

Tall Tomato Plants


veggies-tomato-1.jpg

I was getting nervous that my tomato plants were getting so tall in the greenhouse. I decided to hoop one of the raised beds and move them outside. Hopefully, this will slow them down a bit until I can safely plant them. I can cover them with shade cloth on sunny days until they are used to the full strength of the sun. At night if it is going to go below 50° F I can pull the plastic over them for some extra protection.

Cilantro

I moved out some Cilantro, Parsley, and Lettuce also and will be planting them within the next two days.

herbs-2.jpg

Harvesting Greens


veggies-sunscape-1.jpg

I am so happy that I started greens early in March as I have been enjoying them in my salads every day for lunch. Here I picked some Asian greens and spinach along with some fresh parsley. The hydroponic lettuce has been absolutely prolific and so tasty too.

The perennial herbs are already up and growing quickly and I will start harvesting some of them this week. I will save photos of them for another post. I hope you have enjoyed my little #hivegarden update. Happy gardening to all.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Ingenious ideas for smaller garden to get everything ready for planting out, the herbs look super!

!WINEX
!LUV


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @sunscape.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.170


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

 2 years ago  

Thanks, Joan, I have to get creative when the weather does not play well. lol

Small tunnel system easy to work with, have considered similar to protect from monkeys not so much the weather 😅

 2 years ago  

Thankfully I don't have monkeys but I do have deer sometimes.

Oh deer... do they also enjoy nibbling seed, is that a chipmunk in the photo definitely not a squirrel not something we see.

Wow I am so impressed with your gardening skills @sunscape My seeds are only about a month behind yours...🤣

 2 years ago  

Good morning Mike, my plants went out of control in the greenhouse with the warm days. I have to slow them down a bit so now I am giving them some tough love. lol Your plants will catch up just fine I am sure.

Nice work!! Very impressive garden! I will get some plastic containers for some fresh salad!lol

 2 years ago  

I am glad you will. Fresh greens are the best and I have a salad every day now. Have a great week.

Thanks so much! I wish I had my magic carpet! My broom has been broken during a fight several years ago!🙀😂🙏

 2 years ago  

I love this setup, it makes planting very organized.

 2 years ago  

Thanks, @afterglow, it has made my life a lot easier now that many of my gardens are raised. It sure saves on the back.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Your hoop house looks amazing! Good luck with the spring planting. As for your tomatoes, are you going to trellis them, or are you going to have them grow up a stake?

 2 years ago  

I have large panels that I will train them to grow upon and special clips to hold them to it. I will be posting some updates as I get them in the ground. Thanks for the visit and Happy Gardening to you.

I tried growing a garden in pots during last growing season. It was very successful, so now I am actively planning to plant veggies, fruit, and flowers come September. My cucumbers, mint, and paprika were very successful. As were my strawberries. But I want to try something else now.

 2 years ago  

Good for you, I hope everything you plant gives you a bountiful harvest. I always enjoy planting new varieties as it keeps life a bit more interesting.

I really want to grow baby sugar melons, but I'll see if they can be grown in pots or not.

I'm still a long ways from 50's at night. Maybe by the end of May....

 2 years ago  

I agree. The nights are still cold so I am keeping them like this until I feel a bit more comfortable. I think it is hard to tell with all these fluctuating temperatures. Your work on the farm is inspiring. I don't know how you keep up with it all.