White Flowers in the Garden - by Sunscape

in HiveGarden4 months ago

Flowers-White Rose-.jpg

Gardening is my passion, not just for enjoying the beauty of the flowers, but caring for them as well. Today, I am going to share some of the flowers from my gardens that are mostly white. There is something about them that speaks to my heart.

Begonia's


flowers-white-begonia.jpg

I try to find a good source for Begonia bulbs when they come out in the nurseries. They are perfect for hanging baskets or planted at the side of a container garden.

flowers-white-begonia-1.jpg

Bradford Pear


flowers-white-bradford-pear.jpg

These are the spring blossoms on my Bradford Pear Tree and I must say it puts on a beautiful display when it blooms.

flowers-white-pear.jpg

Brugmansia


flowers-white-brugmansia.jpg

For many years I grew Brugmansia and enjoyed the intoxicating fragrance in the early morning and dusk. During the daytime, the bees literally feast on the abundant pollen inside the blooms.

Spring Candytuft


flowers-white-candytuft.jpg

When I moved into this home 25 years ago, I had brought cuttings of this plant from my other house. To this day it is still thriving and I have it transplanted all around my home. It is so pretty when it flowers in early spring with the Daffodils.

Chives


flowers-white-chive.jpg

The white globe seedheads of the garlic chives in my herb garden become a wonderful attractor for pollinators.

Chrysanthemum


flowers-white-chrysanthemum.jpg

It has been a few years since I have grown these in my garden. I never replaced them once a harsh winter killed them off. You have to admit that they are a beautiful addition to the white gardenscape.

Dandelion


flowers-white-dandelion.jpg

Although not a flower, I added these seedheads from the Dandelions that I let grow in certain areas of the garden. I collect the flowers for soapmaking and also add the young greens to my salads. I just don't let them get out of control.

Gladiola


flowers-white-glad.jpg

Here is another flower that I would like to bring back to my garden this next season. Gladiola's are so beautiful and who can resist cutting them for a wonderful addition to floral bouquets?

Hosta


flowers-white-hosta-1.jpg

When the Hostas in my shade gardens send up their stalks to flower, it looks so lovely in the moonlit garden. I must mention that some of the varieties I have an absolutely divine fragrance.

Limelight Hydrangea


flowers-white-hydrangea.jpg

The flower heads on the Hydrangea tree are enormous. When it blooms the entire tree lights up the garden by putting on a fabulous show. As the days get shorter the blossoms take on a pinkish hue.

Lilac


flowers-white-lilac.jpg

This white Lilac is my all-time favorite and I do have different colors. The white one perfumes the entire area and all my neighbors ask me what is flowering.

Casablanca Oriental Lily


flowers-white-lily.jpg

When I had my nursery, this was always a best seller. I used to have a lot of them in my garden until the lily beetles devoured them as soon as they were about to bloom. So, I have given up on them for the time being. Although, perhaps I should get some for the summer garden this year.

Star Magnolia


flowers-white-magnolia.jpg

This is another one of my trees that blooms pure white. It is the first to blossom when spring arrives and has already set its buds for this year.

Mock Orange


flowers-white-mock orange.jpg

Another very fragrant shrub is the Mock Orange that grows wild at the edge of my property. I love sitting on my back porch when a slight North breeze sends its glorious scent my way.

Peony


flowers-white-peony.jpg

I have divided this peony so many times and have large clumps of it around my home. The plant was given to me when I moved in 25 years ago and she had the Peony herself for over 30 years. So this one is here to stay!

Summer Phlox


flowers-white-phlox.jpg

The white phlox is called "David" and is by far one of the most fragrant flowers that I have. The bees go absolutely wild on the blooms all day long. I have it planted in the area where I grow my vegetables to help attract pollinators.

Clematis


flowers-white-sweet-autumn-joy.jpg

Although I lost this Clematis a few years ago due to some sort of wilt, I miss having it growing on my trellis. It was also another very fragrant addition to the garden. I may have to try and find another one even if I have to order it online as I never see one at our local nurseries.

Verbena


flowers-white-verbena.jpg

Verbena is a wonderful hanging basket flower and I grow a few different colors each year. The white really stands out when planted with red or purple flowers.

Yucca


flowers-white-yucca.jpg

Yucca is one of the tallest flower spikes that grow in the garden. They tend to get huge after a few years so they need a lot of sun and space to grow.

Wild Rose


flowers-white-wild-rose.jpg

Lastly, this wild white rose grows at the edge of my yard along with the mock orange. I think that whoever owned the property before us must have planted them there.

Even though I probably have a few more white flowers growing in my gardens, like Shasta Daisy, I will end this post here. I hope you enjoyed seeing these white beauties that have been a part of my gardens for many years.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

What a stunning collection of white flowers! Amazing flowers in your garden. Love to grow some but they would like the hot and humid weather here.

 4 months ago  

Thanks, you are probably right. Many of them need the winter to go dormant. ;-)

What an amazing collection! Absolutely gorgeous!

 4 months ago  

Thank you, you are so sweet.

You have beautiful white flowers that grace your garden and I am amazed that one of your plants has held on for 25 years without spoiling. That is a success @sunscape 👏🏼👏🏼

 4 months ago  

I am amazed too, 25 years is a long time for a plant.

@sunscape Awww... such beautiful and amazingly wonderful flower pictures. Am loving them, absolutely!

The subtle elegance of white is truly delightful to the eyes, mind, body and soul.

 4 months ago  

I agree, the white in the garden is so soothing to the soul.

You have beautiful flowers, you have taken care of them very well, I can't stop seeing them, they are beautiful.

 4 months ago  

Thank you very much.

You really look amazing photographing some amazing flowers and some flowers are so beautiful that they show the beauty of nature.

 4 months ago  

I appreciate your nice comment. thank you

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

@sirenahippie says - Beautiful white flowers. Great photos!

Manual Curation by sagarkothari88, Suggested By @sirenahippie
Hive Curators Join Discord | Support Witness | Follow Curation Trail
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️

I am always amazed at the sheer variety of plants you have, or have had, in your gardens! So many gorgeous white ones!

 4 months ago  

What a collection! And I didn't even recognise half of them :)

Thank you for sharing all that beauty with us!