CONSTRUCTION OF NEW FLOWER BEDS AS PROMISED, with a little extra milling for SUNROOM wood moldings .

in HiveGarden2 years ago

A promise is a promise and with time running out to keep my word to @farm-mom before going in for total hip replacement surgery on the 16th of November, constructing some new flower boxes finally made it to the top of my list and not a minute too soon!

I figured that while we were milling the wood for the new flower beds we might as well mill the logs I had put aside for use in the sunroom.

The very first time Robin peered out of the windows of the sunroom she thought a new flower bed would be perfect if I were to build one that would be in plain sight from the addition.
Being that she is a flower lover and I'm a lover of her, I was more than happy to oblige.

IMG_5084.JPG

With the both of us being as busy as beavers for the better part of the past six months, I was excited to mill some wood for the first time this year.
The first species of wood we milled was hard maple and in the future, I will fabricate the moldings for the interior of the sunroom using this hardwood.

IMG_3942.JPG

I almost cut the two bolts of the wood I had put aside into 16-inch lengths for firewood.
After milling the bolts and seeing the beautiful boards that were produced, I was happy I went with my original plan.

IMG_3945.JPG

In a few hours, I had the two bolts of maple milled, stickered, and air drying. These boards will be used this coming spring.

IMG_3974.JPG

Here's the interior of the sunroom that I hope to complete next year.

room.png

With that out of the way, it was time to mill the logs I had put aside for the new flower boxes.
When I secured the two bolts seen in this collage, I was thrilled.
These are bolts of Black Locusts, a tree that is very hard to come by in this area.
It is one of the best woods for constructing anything that will be exposed to the wrath of #Mother #Narure.
Many of the wooden walkways of The New York Botanical Gardens were constructed using Black Locust.

black loctus.png

What a perfect day for milling, sunny with temps in the sixties.

ramps.png

After putting a new blade on the sawmill, the mill made small work of the locust logs.

IMG_3967.JPG

That's my gal hoisting the bolts onto the carriage of the mill and cleaning the sawdust from the boards.

robin.png

After hobbitizing as a team for several hours, we had milled what would be needed for the flower boxes and would have extra lumber for other outside projects.

IMG_3972.JPG

By the time I was able to start construction on the new flower beds, another 11 days had flown by.

IMG_4248.JPG

The shape of the new bed ended up being a 9'6" square.
Leveling up the box and filling it with that precious commodity, dirt, took some time and the BOSS was there to make sure that everything was up to snuff.
build.png

Transplanting the rose bushes into the new bed should ensure that they survive the cold winter.

roses 2.png

Leaving a live edge on one side of the boards, added a little character to the flower bed.

live edge.png

Up next was constructing a flower box for the Morning Glories that had done so well this year. We started these plants from seeds and they must have loved where we had transplanted them in the spring.
This was our first attempt at growing this very delicate flower. We had no idea that Morning Glories were perennials, that was exciting news.

IMG_4293.JPG

As I removed the plants from their container, the network of roots that had developed over the past seven months was remarkable.

flower box.png

We thought that this was a good year for these beautiful plants. On a daily basis, 10 to 12 new flowers would greet us every morning and most often die off by the following day.
This coming Spring should be something special when these established plants are littered with
this most exquisite bloom
morning glories.png

garden journal footer.png

Sort:  

I envy you the locust boards. We have a very few locust fence posts and they have been in the ground since the mid 1980's.

Your sun porch looks very like my back porch, only bigger.

 2 years ago  

Being that she is a flower lover and I'm a lover of her, I was more than happy to oblige.

YOu guys are the sweetest. My favourite hive couple. Love your skills and super jealous ofyour mill... it would be so awesome to mill your own timber!

That's a lot of work, but the results are worth it.
That sawmill is an awfully handy tool when you need to build stuff. Logs are cheaper than lumber...

The mill is a wonderful piece of machinery that is part of farm life. With the present cost of lumber, the savings are huge.
The logs we mill mostly come from trees here on the farm. Some of the logs come from friends we know and they are more than happy just to give them to us.

 2 years ago  

This is why I love you💝💝💝💝

Amazing!!!'
When I retire....
Hehehe 🤣

Thanks for stopping by.
When I retire, I use to feel the same way, hehehe, but as fast as time seems to fly by, retirement is not that far off.

Yes, Twenty years doesn't seem so far away, hehe 😍

Can’t wait to have a free second to cut again!!
img_2994.jpg
BORED APE ME!!

When the time is right we will once again enjoy having sawdust blowing in our mugs.

 2 years ago  

You just gave me the idea to do this bedding in my vegetable garden. Thank you.

I'm happy that this post was informative.
Thanks for stoping by.

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)