You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having Fun Experimenting with Fungi!

in HiveGarden2 months ago

Pretty cool, always fun to try something new. Keep us posted on their progress as I may want to give it a try.
This year we will be trying a few new veggies that I know you have grown in the past and have had a lot of luck with, Zucchini Rampicante, Lemon cukes, and Candy Rooster.

I wrote these down last year, wanting to give them a go. It took me a while to find the paper I wrote them on, but I got it.

Happy gardening my friend.

Sort:  

I bet you'd be able to find some good logs for growing 'shrooms! These were probably a little big, but hopefully will still work just fine. I'll be so excited to see any signs of "life" that I'll be sure to post.

I hope those do well for you! I'll be looking forward to seeing how they grow in your neck of the woods. Which reminds me it's about time to plant some more seeds in the greenhouse...

It has been a long Winter and getting my hands in the dirt is just what the doctor ordered. I ordered the same kit yesterday and I'm also excited to see how we do. What species of wood did you use? I have both oak and hard maple logs that should work just fine.
You mentioned that you watched a video on the growing, I didn't see it on the site where I ordered the mushrooms from, did I miss it or did you find the video on another site?

Thanks for the info and good luck to you. We'll have to compare notes as we go along.

I suppose a link to the video would have been helpful in the post:

We used oak for ours, but I imagine the maple would work, too! I'll look forward to seeing how yours come along!

Thank you for the link. It should be fun to share how we do. With both of us having green thumbs and comparing notes, we've got to have some success the first time around.