Planting Norway Spruce Trees in the Wild

in HiveGarden15 days ago (edited)

I was becoming attached to these Norway spruce (Picea abies) cuttings that had been lying around in the corner of my garden for over a year.

Originally, I had 10 of these amazing Norway spruce cuttings. One died during the winter, but the rest are thriving well; however, they all need transplanting.

After learning about all the health benefits of this tree, I wanted to plant a few of them. They helped me during the COVID times when "stay-at-home" rules were in place, effectively easing chest congestion with their richness in lignans, flavonoids, tannins, potent antioxidants, terpenes, anti-microbial, anti-inflammatory, and respiratory effects. They're also rich in Vitamin C and minerals.

I love its aroma and I even add its scent to a cake!

So, I decided to work on them today. I transplanted 5 into a larger pot to keep their size manageable until I decided what to do with them.

If they grow well, I will have a live Christmas tree this Christmas.

Two of these are for friends, and as they can grow into very large trees, I decided to plant a couple in the wild.

The sun beaming bright, pretty warm, and went for a mission.

With my little trees to the nearest woodland.

I spotted an area where a big tree had just died. It has a lot of sunshine in there.

I cleared up the branches where I was planting them.

I dug up the soil.

Sorry earthworm, I will put you back.

Then, I planted them there.

I found a sleeve lying around; I put it on to protect one.

For the other, I placed a branch nearby so it wouldn't get stepped on.

They are about 10 meters apart so they can greet each other.

I planted them near the stream, so when I visit, I can easily water them.

I fetched some water in the nearby stream.

There you go, they seem happy. I watered them to give them a good start.

I think they are thankful to be in such a nice place.

In the future, they will offer recreational opportunities for hiking, camping, wildlife viewing, and nature photography. Animals will benefit from them as well, along with people who are keen to harvest for culinary or medicinal use.

They will also serve as shelter and food for mammals, contributing to the overall health and resilience of forest ecosystems.

As a bonus, I took some moss to spread around the rest of them.

Back home, I put it on top of the pot to keep the moisture in the soil.

I watered them too.

And they seem happier!

I am even happier knowing that I have contributed to positive environmental change and have hopefully made a difference in the world around me.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

Mariah 🌲💗

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I admired the way you take good care our Mother Nature Ma'am @theworldaroundme

Mabuhay! I am taking care of them in return. Thank you @diamondinthesky for your lovely comment. 😊

Wonderful! Planting them even to the wild, I just hope they don't die so that lot's of people can see it's beauty once it bloom and it grows. By the way, that earthworm, I can just hold them without a problem during my childhood but the sight of them now give me shivers 🤧🤧🤧

Thank you! Yes, I do hope so, and that is my vision for the future. The wiggly earthworms give me a bit of a shiver; although I know they are harmless, I have no issue holding them, but I don't stare at them, hehe. 😊

You take good care of them they are healthy. You did contribute to our environment hopefully someone also for what you are doing, And I will start mine also

Yes, I will look after them, I am so pleased you are doing yours as well, Thank you for the lovely comment. 😊

The moss is beautiful bonus from the forest 😍❤️

Those plant finally growing in the beautiful pot. Well done

Thank you, yes a beautiful bonus. 😊💗