Planting at Night: Propagating Sakura Tree (Cherry Blossom)

Sakura (cherry blossom) is one of my favorites around this time, bearing lots of flowers and making the village bloom.

I didn't want to miss planting them this time. Since nighttime is mostly my free time, I decided to plant them last night.

If they all survive, I will have a couple for myself to plant in the garden, a couple for friends, and the rest to plant in the wild. Although their bloom doesn't last long, the beauty of it during that short while lingers in your memory, which I would love people who appreciate it to enjoy in the future.

I first prepared the pots to sow them.
I put fresh soil.

I selected healthy branches from a mature tree.

I made a clean slanted cut just below a leaf node.

I removed any leaves and flowers from the lower portion of the cutting, leaving a few at the top.

I made a hole in the center of the soil with my finger.

I dipped the cut end in the rooting hormone to encourage root development and then inserted the cutting into the hole.

I gently watered them, enough but not too much.

Over the next few weeks, I will monitor the cutting for signs of root development by tugging on the cutting to feel if there is resistance, indicating the presence of roots.

Fingers crossed for these beauties, I hope they will survive.

I will keep them indoors until they are rooted, and hopefully, we will have plenty of new Sakura trees next year!

Looking forward to planting some in the wild, hoping that the beauty of Sakura will continue to enchant people for years to come!

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Mariah 💗

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Aww!! So beautiful 💐🌳

Thank you, yes they are beautiful. 😊

It's beautiful, not sure if I can grow sakura trees here in France.

You probably can grow them if you're in mid or north France..

It would be awesome if they will grown into full grown trees and flower. Good luck!

Yes, I am hopeful. Thank you 🙏

It's a beautiful tree, I loved it. Imagine a road full of that tree, even for a short time when it blooms it must be wonderful to be able to contemplate that beauty. @theworldaroundme

Indeed, thank you for the lovely comment. ☺️

beauty of cherry blossoms 🌸 is something enchanting..and good to see your plantation of them…

It's a beautiful tree with beautiful flowers. I hope you can grow them well. 🫶