How to propagate and care for frog taro ornamental plants

in HiveGarden4 months ago

Hello Gardeners Lovers...
Today the weather is quite sunny and it looks like I can do some gardening today. I will show you my collection of ornamental plants, even though I have never fertilized them with manufactured fertilizer, my ornamental plants grow well. I will share information on how I care for and reproduce one of my ornamental plant collections, namely frog taro.

IMG_20240115_173954.jpg

The frog taro ornamental plant can also be used as an indoor and outdoor plant. There is no need for special care for the frog taro ornamental plant, because the frog taro can survive both hot and cold weather.

IMG20240115173911.jpg

One of the features of frog taro is the unique shape of its leaves, the leaves are green and there are additional bumps on the leaves like the bumps on frogs, that's why this taro is called frog taro. Some people think that frog taro is the same as rat taro, but these are different types of plants. Frog taro has black bumps on its leaves, but rat taro doesn't have these black bumps, but its leaves look like a rat's tail, that's why it's called rat taro. The rat taro ornamental plant is one of the plants that is useful as a traditional medicine for treating cancer.

IMG20240115175050.jpg

How to Multiply
The way to propagate the frog taro plant is through the tubers. The tubers will develop and become tubers, the old tubers will sprout and start producing new plants. We can move the sprouted tubers to another pot, so that they can produce beautiful new plants.

IMG20240115175121.jpg

So that new plants can grow well, we should use a sharp knife to separate the newly sprouted tubers from the mother plant. If we carelessly cut a new weevil, sometimes the incision results are not perfect and cause the weevil to grow slowly.

IMG20240115175143.jpg

From one parent plant, I got several new seeds, this is how I reproduced this frog taro ornamental plant.

IMG20240115175914.jpg

IMG20240115175604.jpg

After getting new seeds, I planted them in pots, so that my frog taro plants would grow more.

IMG20240115175642.jpg

IMG20240115180618.jpg

Now I have several new frog caladium plants.

IMG20240115182841.jpg

Maintenance

Frog taro plants like water, but if we give too much water, the tubers will rot. Usually I water the frog taro plants once a week with a moderate amount of water, the most important thing is that all the roots are exposed to water. I put the rat taro plant outside and I forgot to put it back inside the house, this happened in December with very high rainfall, so my rat taro plant almost died, the leaves started to rot and also turned yellow.

IMG20240115173048.jpg

When watering frog taro, try not to expose the leaves to water too often, so that the beautiful leaves do not rot easily.

IMG20240115173034.jpg

Apart from that, to make the frog taro plants more fertile, I often give them tea dregs, these tea dregs make the plants cool, so they become fertile more quickly and the leaves also have a brighter green color.

IMG20240115180545.jpg

How to use this stale tea is very easy, I save the remaining tea powder for a few days which can no longer be used, so that the stale tea powder can be used as organic fertilizer.

IMG20240115180557.jpg

Open the tea bag and place the tea powder around the newly planted frog taro plants, this will be a good solid fertilizer for plant growth.

IMG20240115180603.jpg

I will put the ornamental plants that I just planted on the terrace, so they don't get hit by rain. In January it still rains often, although not too often.

IMG20240115182838.jpg

Thank you for reading my post.

Bes

Sort:  

One of my elder sister got that kind of plant, I do not know what is its name until I saw this blog of yours.

Does that plant over there have black bumps on its leaves too?@afterglow

Yes, it is.

Good to see how to grow frog taro ornamental plants. Thank you for sharing this. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for support and curation my post @diyhub