Vibes quest to grow the path to freedom... 🌱

in HiveGarden β€’ 2 years ago

A quick tour of the vibe garden...

I recently found the #HiveGarden community run by @riverflows. This is just what I need seeing beautiful gardens to shame mine, haha. No all joking aside this is a great tribe that I hope can inspire and advised me on creating my edible garden. Some of you may remember my old posts about my garden so I will try not to repeat too much. This is my entry to the #gardenjournal.

Having been in my house near three years maybe I should have done more. However life gets in the way also my lack of prioritising or procrastination might just be a factor too.


IMG_20200712_202844.jpg
About where I started


When I moved it is was nice but overgrown with bushes, nice but not my scene. However I wanted it to be a edible garden. At least wanting it to provide some food and a nice tranquil space for me. I have dragged me feet and not done much plus we have has some intense storms this last year so it took a battering, hence the wrecked fence. Now I need that tranquil space more then ever so am going to focus on it 🀞🏼.

The garden space is not perfect and requires a lot of work. I have noticed the top of the garden does not drain well, rather confusing for me. In addition to this there is a huge slug problem much to my annoyance. I am persisting and have convinced some growing to commence. This is a big achievement with all the factors against it plus the fact the even though its Mid summer (in two weeks),the hottest average temperature currently is only ten degrees (Celsius) when normally it should be a very least eighteen or nineteen.

Better get along with the progress, hopefully their won't be to much judgment from the tribe. With all the contributing factors I'm doing ok I think. It's very adhoc and experimental, which in my opinion adds to the fun. Still any suggestion are very welcome.


IMG_20220602_103944.jpg

The aesthetic side lupin and a pond



IMG_20220602_104007.jpg
Feel the strawberries are coming along impressively



IMG_20220602_104022.jpg
There is loads growing here just underground. Or munched buy the slugs grrr. We have kale, kohl rabi, potatoes, spinach



IMG_20220602_104100.jpg
Better in the greenhouse. Toughen them up before putting out will hopefully put of the slugs 🀞🏼



IMG_20220602_104113.jpg
More space here, any suggestions?


IMG_20220602_104107.jpg
Raspberry and gooseberry


I have many ideas including some grassed areas for barefoot walking. Ooh did show you the fire pit either, although want to make and proper area for that πŸ”₯.


So that's the vibes green interactions for now!

Connect with you next time... πŸ¦ΆπŸ½πŸ’―πŸ’.

Om namah shivaya... πŸ™πŸ½πŸŒπŸ“Ώ

For Reiki vibrations contact @thebarefootot

thebarefootot_nametag.png

Check these out, they work well for me:

download.jpeg


PB8ro82ZpZP2DJYqWdv8qwdFPnFdSQrixPMNvTU9D4q8UVKknKMnCKdFJNvYuMRbFLPvNRVNjpEbwh5oneuVgpfFBZLMebAue4Q7m3NqMxywpTB4.jpeg


download.png

Sort: Β 
Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Your garden area looks like it would be a good fit for centipedes, I rely on these and other insect predators to keep the slugs down. We also have giant crickets that are great at keeping slugs under control. I make sure that there are places for the giant centipedes and crickets to hide during the day. Wood piles or compost heaps with larger pieces of wood are ideal.
Consider these suggestions about making the garden more predator friendly - https://www.slughelp.com/promote-biodiversity-prevent-garden-pests-like-slugs/

Yes have a pond but we have a lot of building work going on in the field next door and he's not shown up this year sadly. Also, insects are not as common here in the UK. I remember as a kid digging and finding all sorts but now there are hardly any insects. I spend hours scrubbing them off my old man's car no need now! We don't have giant centipedes maybe I should import some πŸ€”. Anyway, I have attempted a solution so fingers crossed.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Brr, sounds like it's been cold there - praying for good weather for you! The greenhouse should help, and creating microclimates are the go. Cant wait to see your fire pit! THings look like they are ccoming along nicely - sometimes it feels like nothing is happening and then a week of good weather and you'll have lettuce ccoming out of your ears!

Yes where I live is notorious for wet weather (even in the uk) but this year! Summer is just not showing up, hopefully a late one πŸ™πŸΌ.

As I say we had at least four big storms (for us) in a row battered the fences.

Its all there ready to grow and planned kinda in my mind. Just need to be patient πŸ™πŸΌ. Will keep it updated on here πŸ˜ƒ

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

It looks lovely 😍.

I pick the slugs off the garden and dump them in the compost bin - sort of a slug factory. I'm waiting for the word to get around so they move on of their own accord. No one wants to end up in a black plastic bin, do they? πŸ˜‚

Thanks a work in progress. They are hundreds of the blighters never seems to end. My compost bin is full them, the even climb the washing line 😰

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

OMG really? Try the beer method. STand int eh garden with a beer, and remove slugs. Do you like your neighbours? If not, piff them over the fence.... Or maybe gget a chicken or two? Though mine don't seem to eat slugs!

Tried beer, just loads of them. The neighbours have regular slug showers 🀣. Read they have a 100 meter territory radius so can come back?

Don't think I have enough space for chicks, plus my cat would eat them. Although she got attacked by a blackbird the other day. But don't think the council allow birds either 😞.

A battle in progress for sure 🀣