You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will This Keep My Next Pepper Plant Alive?

in HiveGarden18 days ago

I once saw a report about professional snail breeders. To prevent the snails from escaping outdoors, they covered the breeding facility with a very thin and small layer of fat (frying fat). 5 centimeters should be enough. The snails cannot move on this layer. If you put a thin layer of fat on the outside of the buckets, your peppers should be safe.
It works for me.

Sort:  

Ohhh yeah thanks! I tried a product called "Schnexagon" in the past that worked as well. But one downside is the smeary layer that also bugs me when I touch it haha
Doesn't fat stink after some days in the sun?

I wipe around the plant pots once with a greasy paper towel and that's it. I do this once a week because springtails and woodlice eat away at the layer. Nothing smells at all.