Gardening - Veggies and Herb update. It takes patience!

in HiveGarden3 months ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.46 (1).jpeg

Good day everyone! Zak here from a very hot Cape Town, South Africa!

It is 8pm and I am sitting before my PC in shorts and slacks and I am sweating! The sun is only now dipping towards the horizon and it is still very light outside!

But the pictures in this post are from this morning... around 6:30am and it is quite light... so you do the math! That's a lot of sunlight hours!

My veggie patch is doing alright. This is the first, non-christmas month of me getting used to me prepaid water meter and I hope I can expand my watering once my budget settles down.

At least the basil and the butternut is going well!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.46.jpeg

The main box is overgrown. Though there are yellow leaves in there that I am going to cut out and thinning out leaves that look sickly. Right on the money as predicted by @lex-zaiya when we got together recently, there was powdery mildew on the older leaves. So I just cut them out.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.47 (1).jpeg

There are fruits all over the plant...

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.47 (2).jpeg
But when they look like this early on, I just remove them. I have no idea why it makes these or why they fail. The stem is quite healthy at this point.

The plant made a lot of these in the beginning and now it makes far less of them.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.47.jpeg

This plant has creeped out of the box, across a pallet that I laid on the ground and it is now on the veggie garden fence. I am just weaving it along there and seeing what happens!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.48 (1).jpeg
Two more fruit!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.48.jpeg
And another big one!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.49 (1).jpeg
The biggest one seems almost ripe enough to harvest. I need to check it with a fingernail if it is hard then I can harvest it. You are not meant to harvest too early either, otherwise the nutrients from the squash will go into the seeds to mature them.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.49.jpeg
Here is another big one. I placed a plate beneath it to prevent it from rotting on the ground... I think I need to pull off that dry flower as well...

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.50 (1).jpeg
Look how big these leaves are!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.50.jpeg
Trellis 2's vine... perhaps this is too much? Do I prune it back and cut this off?

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.51.jpeg
The fence vine is carrying fruit too.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.52.jpeg
Here is one of those failed fruits again... the issue does seem to come from the flower... maybe pick them off early?

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.53 (1).jpeg
Basil is going well along with its ground-cover buddies. Keeps the soil wetter for longer.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.53.jpeg
Again, check the size of this leaf!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.54.jpeg
Here is one of my cuttings that I grew in the kitchen. I cut off a part of another plant, stuck it in some water in the kitchen and waited for roots to grow. Now I have planted it and its about a week later and it looks like its growing merrily!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.55 (1).jpeg
So I am going to grow some more cuttings!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.55.jpeg
Remember to pinch off the flowers on the basil plants to stop the plant from dying!

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.56.jpeg

So we strip off the bottom leaves off these stems and cut off the step at a node point (where the leaves come out). The leaves do not need to be under the water.

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-24 at 07.06.57.jpeg
I am trying a diagonal cut from the stems. Usually this is what we did at a flower shop I worked at to increase the surface area of the cut and allows the plant to absorb water better.

Now I just need to change the water in the cups every day and see what happens!

That's it from me! Thank you for reading!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

Sort:  

Nice jummy

So proud of our garden! ❤️❤️❤️

!LUV
!LOL
!PIZZA

Did you hear about the Irish guy who was assasinated at the antique store?
It was a knick knack paddywhack!

Credit: reddit
@clairemobey, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of zakludick

(4/6)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

I love your garden. Specially the butternut. Look so fresh and happy
😁🌻🤪

Thank you very much! I hope I get a bunch of good butternut out of this.

About those wilted fruits, could it be that they are not getting enough water or nutrients? one thing you could try is pruning the vines so they have more room to grow and produce fruit, I am not an expert, my grandparents grew a lot of fruits and vegetables, that's what I remember them doing.

Yeah, @lex-zaiya texted me about blossom-rot. Apparently, it needs more calcium! I shall correct this as soon as I can!

That's what it looks like to me at least

Seems quite well named. I shall try it out!

Thanks!

I'll put that to good use.

It looks like your garden is doing great!
I remember when my grandma had butternut in her garden that it was growing like crazy! She didn't do any work around it, but she always had a lot of fruits... The plant would crawl on the ground (not going up as it does in your garden), and it had huuuuge leaves...
It looks like it liked the soil and that's why it was growing like weeds... 😃 But, the fruits were sweet and tasty... 😃


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions Posts!

Comment Footer.jpg
Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

Awesome. I hope to reap some good rewards from thus one!

I am happy to see that your basil and butternut garden is going well. Just like you, I also have basil plants but I did not plant them on the ground, I placed them in a pot, so whenever I use them for cooking I just pick them nearby. More harvest my friend!

Haha. I need a lot of basil to keep up with the way @clairemobey likes to use it! We are a family of 5.

Thus there is a basil forest!

yep! I put it in just about everything!!! LOVE Basil!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @zakludick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @zakludick! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv

@zakludick has 0 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.