VEGGIE GARDENING Update - Lots and lots of Green Pepper seedlings! Quick and easy garden upvote!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

My weekend was nearly ruined!

I had so many plans for what I was going to get done in my garden and my garage for the weekend and then I got called to come to work on the Saturday!

Hi all, Zak Ludick here form Cape Town, South Africa with another little gardening update. I had loads of plans, but ended up getting called in to do around 6 hours of work on Saturday which included me going to the harbour and conducting a survey and assessment aboard a diamond mining vessel.

I was not really impressed with the way this client has been dealing with us and I am not yet convinced that I would actually do any work for them IF it were my choice.

But anyway, enough about work. Let's look at that garden of mine!

Green Pepper plants inbound! I hope?

In the picture above you will see loads and loads of pots that @aimeludick, @merenludick and myself prepared some weeks ago with bits of gravel and stones scrounged in the area, stuck into the bottom and then filled the rest of the way with potting soil.

I watered this soil ahead of this planting.

Some time ago I germinated some of these seeds, they came up alright and I planted them out, from about 15-20 little plants only about 3 of them did OK but even these withered finally and died.

I think I MAY have taken too long to plant them out.

Determined to not do this again, and to allow Nature to "do it's thing" I decided to lean into the natural law of things: germinate LOTS more and then plant them out a half a dozen different ways. Life will find a way to make it work!

I took my entire stock of Green Pepper seeds. Note these I harvested from the inside of green peppers we buy from the store. Bell Peppers, in other words.

I would then slightly wet the whole bowl of seeds and sure enough they sucked up the water and they went from dry flakes to slightly swelling seeds.

I then stuck these guys into some mustard mugs and they stuck this into the window sill and kept the toilet paper moist.

Look how many popped up!

So off I went, took the seeds out of the glasses, and began planting. Some I planted as groups of individuals, others I planted in clumps with their roots and the toilet paper still together. Some I buried deeper than others, thinking that IF these survive, they will have stronger roots and better hold on the soil.

I then just stuck the seedling pots into the growing pots and wet the soil again. Then again in the morning and again when I got home.

This planting box would give the seedlings a bit more protection from the wind which in Cape Town, has been EXEPTIONALLY hard on the plants. I have covered my other veggies with some boards and grids to cut the wind down some.

As for the Bell/Green Peppers, I covered some and others I left open inside the boxes.

It is now almost a day and a half later and a lot of them still look good so I am hopeful. If I keep tending them, I am sure I will get some good results!

Let's see what they look like by next week!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, I love your pots.😍😍😊

Thank you very much!

These plants grew very well! And quickly. Mission: Veggie Patch is in action!😄🌺🌿

Our garden is just incredible! It's such a pleasure to watch it and our family flourish!

Thanks my babe. My next gardening update should be a really cool post... you know what is coming! 😁😁😁😁

Hello, I'm a bit confused, are the ones in the black pots just planted? 🤔

Probably, some should stick and prosper, although if not, I recommend you make the seedlings directly in the black pots and not move them from there until they are at least 4 fingers high or maybe a little more, so you will have more possibilities. of success ☺️

Oh and the seeds of the peppers from the supermarket are fine and will work, although I also recommend leaving a pepper on the plant, the largest of all, it will be tempting to eat it, but no, you must be strong and let it grow as much as possible and when it is starting to get damaged, that's when you can remove the seeds and dry them. That is the process that is used for the seeds that they sell in specialized stores, because that way they make sure to get the seeds of the best specimen at its best ☺️

Thanks for sharing, I wish you the best of luck and I hope to see you eating peppers in a couple of months 🤗

Hello! Thank you very much for your input and tricks!

This is a new veggie garden I am building now in the new home. Before I had some pepper plants and could harvest some seeds from my peppers but not this time. Thank you, the trick of leaving a big one unit it starts getting old is great.

So the small glasses is what I use to germinate the seeds and then I plant them into the black pots for the first time. I guess we shall see what happens!?

Thank you again for stopping by!

Hello again, yes, they germinate directly in the black pots. The problem is that the vessels do not have the necessary nutrients to grow and you are forced to transplant too soon and that is very stressful for the plant and even more so for such a small one. Even if you use germinators (the little disposable molds that look like popsicle molds) you must let the plant grow even more, look at it this way, the more roots it has, the more chances it will have to survive a transplant ☺️

Here I leave you a reference image, so you can see more or less what I mean, although in short, you should leave the glass with the wet paper to germinate beans and add the sprouts to a vegetable sauté, it is very tasty ☺️


Capture from Google. May the strongest seed survive 😂

Hehehe. May the strongest seed survive!

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator priyanarc & you received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative. Your post will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you very much!

 2 years ago  

I love your pots. I think I am going to need those kinds of pots if I am going to plant some more papaya or germinate some more papaya to my garden.

Nice. How long does the papaya take to grow before it makes fruit?

 2 years ago  

It takes about 2-3 years.