Pickleman Family Garden - Prepped and Planted!

in HiveGarden27 days ago


pgarden.jpg

Somewhere around the 6th year of The Pickleman Family Garden on #hive. What started as a reclamation of lawn and repurposing to a simple garden veggie box has become and expanding and perpetual yearly tradition of exploration.

This edition, I am just started with the challenge of spending as little as possible and growing as much as possible.


image.png

Where we started...


IMG_1340.JPG

As is the case, a long Canadian winter is never kind to a back yard with a dog and a family who ignores it a few snowy months. When you bookend that with a few weeks of consistent rain and lawnmowing procrastination, it didn't start as a pretty sight. The biggest garden box was falling apart, weeds were popping up first in the beds, and the soil was in dire need of a fresh round of compost, fertilizer, manure and black earth. Here we go.

IMG_1541.JPG

A quick mow, a bit of cleaning up the anti-dog fortifications, some new fertilized soil and compost to freshen up the beds and a planting seems to have happened in a snap!


image.png

Strawberry Patch


IMG_1556 (1).JPG

I started with the strawberry patch which seems to thin out each year. They sprout every year modestly and grow quickly at the end of spring but I like to augment it every year with new seedlings. They are usually a few bucks each and I grab maybe 6 little ones but there were none of those this year. So, I snagged a hanging basket for $18 and split it into 6 to fill in the thin spots.

IMG_1557 (1).JPG

A bit of top soil refresh and planting of the newest plants, we opted for a new to cover the sprouts from bugs and the brown thing lurking in the top left of the picture.

IMG_1573.JPG

When all was planted and covered, expecting the nets to deter dog is probably just wishful thinking. Peppers of all sorts in the end and a variety of greens (from kale to spinach to leaf lettuce to mesclun mix of leafy greens) on the right. We are opting for the obstruction defense as the perimeter tactic last year proved ineffectual.

image.png

The Main Box


IMG_1574.JPG

With the box rebuilt and the soil all fertilized and ready, I left the planting to my girls. We transplanted a big patch of oregano from the other box to grow along side 6 varieties of tomatoes. Beefsteak and cherry from what I know and some other artisan ones means we will again have way too man tomato plants. Plenty to share with others and still have to put on every sandwich..

The far end has some zucchini, spaghetti squash, yellow and english cucumbers and I think a couple sweet peppers. Each of the sprouts are protected by tomato cages and I stood up a perimeter of Guinea pig cages as a perimeter. Impressive looking but I think it is a matter of time I find a dog in there.

IMG_1539.JPG

He is as cute as he is ignorant of our garden struggles he inadvertently causes. Hit little nose is always on the lookout for rabbits, ground hogs, possums or any other animals that would have the audacity to trespass on his yard. If he wasn't as big a menace to the garden as any of them, what a garden we might have!

IMG_1572.JPG

More rain and a past due mow and we are off and growing. I took the chainsaw to the tree and cleaned up anything under 8 feet so there might actually be more sunlight and airflow for the veggies. Raspberry and mint are already grappling for space in the flower bed and the lillies have thrown up plenty of green to start filling things in. Not a bad start to what hopefully will be a season of growing, eating and sharing.


image.png

Blooms!


IMG_1568.JPG

I have been starting to collect pictures of all the early blooming flowers. Not only are they a welcome splash of colour early in the spring, they are some of the first food the bees and other pollinators get. With all the pesticides on the incredible number of farmers fields around here, and the dumb ornamental lawns with native flowers (aka weeds) pruned and sprayed away, some still wonder why pollinators are in danger, and will take us with them if they fall. Maybe just a drop in the bucket but I love the thousands of blooms that pop from flowers and trees in my yard.


IMG_1576.JPG

This garden post is long enough already so maybe I will save them for a flower-focused garden post where I REALLY turn into an old lady with her flowers!


image.png


Garden.jpg

Mom started me along my path of growing stuff when I was a kid. Motivated by so many blockchain blogging gardeners, I figured I would plant and share and learn as I reclaim as much grass space as I can. It has turned out to be a fruitful experience and I hope to inspire others to sow and grow no matter what your location or experience level is.

Will there be pickles this year finally?!

Wherever you are...JUST GROW!


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png




image.png

What are you growing this year?

Sort:  

And you're off to the races, as they say! It's so lush and green looking that I took a deep breath expecting to smell grass lol. You will soon be swimming in veg....I adore your garden 'helper' :D

Very nice garden. I’m going to plant more veggies this year. I just need to figure out how to keep the rabbits and Racoons away.

Yes the rodents can be a problem.

I would start small and just make a little cage of chicken wire.

They see to dig under that. I think I will need to build raised boxes or something …but then also need chicken wire to keep the birds away. One year we did blueberries … waited all summer for them to turn dark blue. The day they were finally ready the birds swept in and ate them all.

You have a beautiful and simple garden. I loved to eat strawberries, but I couldn't try to plant them. I'm pretty in love with the flowers; they bloom beautifully. Thanks for sharing 🤗 Now my goal is to plant a strawberry tho! haha

You have a lovely bit of garden going there!

We're on about year 10 of an ongoing endeavor to support the whole "Grow, don't mow" initiative... generating our own food instead of keeping a lawn. So far, we've gone from about 2/3 acre of lawn to closing in on just 1/3 acre. A little bit every year!

The blooms look awesome!
But that dog noce photo is the best one 😃 It is as he is smelling his way in!!!!!

I didn't expect that one can grow strawberry in the seasonal conditions of Canada.

You've done a great job tidying up your garden. We haven't planted tomatoes, peppers, and green beans here because it's raining too much. If it doesn't rain, maybe at the end of the week 👩‍🌾.

I give the garden 2 days before doggo is in there rooting around

I don’t really know much about farming. Can you please tell me why you divided those plants? Is it that you don’t want them to join together or what?

I myself know that it is not easy to maintain a garden, it has to be watered on time, when one plants something new, one has to take a lot of care in the beginning.

Hello zekepickleman!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥇 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by keithtaylor

You and your curator receive 0.2340 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 8.57% share of the reward from Daily Report 308. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUGOLD token for taking 1st place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START