XI: After unplanting there is a big mess

in HiveGardenlast month

Hello, dear hiver!❤️

There are new plants today, some arrived yesterday and some this morning.

It has been a day of great inspiration, I left the house to change my Internet plan. And in the city of Lechería I saw agaves, one of the species that I have pruned, and that pruning generated a very beautiful kind of trunk. Photograph it to keep in mind, because it is a good idea.


Agave plants that I saw from the other side of the sidewalk, city of Lechería

In addition to this, mom gave me new plants, a palm tree, and a tricolor maguey. While this morning I bought some cilantro (wild coriander), they gave me 4 plants with roots for 10 Bs (equivalent to $0.27). It was more expensive in the market, but I didn't have enough money, I had already made the purchases and I only had 10 Bs left. The man told me that he sold them starting at 20 Bs. I didn't imagine it had that price, I was prepared to leave because I didn't have the money to pay.

I guess the man saw my sadness on my face because he was not going to buy my long-awaited cilantro. So he gave me half of the amount he sells which is equivalent to the amount of money he had.

It was a fair deal. And he brought my cilantro home.


Culantros in the bag where they were sold to me, they were beautiful

While the hours passed and I waited a little for the afternoon to arrive, because I live in a coastal city and the heat is quite strong, I placed my cilantro in water. Also check that the plants were fine. Yesterday I separated the baby agaves from my plant, just the ones I found in the mesh that I tell you about in my post Diary of my garden X: 3 agaves, and a rain to come my tricolor mage was also there.

I didn't know that the small agave plants would handle the humidity well, to my surprise, it was very good for them.

The afternoon arrived, and I prepared to spend time in my garden. It was a bit messy because I took out the agave plants. I thought I should organize it, and I left everything to chance. I would only transplant and move pots, thus little by little I would find the order that I longed for.


This is how everything looked after removing the agave plants

Before I start moving pots, I took some soil to plant my coriander. Not all of them fit in a straight line, so I interspersed them. For now this will be their container, later I will buy a more comfortable one for them.

Then I continued with the maguey, and the ones I already had planted, the idea occurred to me that these were in a straight line, forming a wall of plants. Like a small fortress that introduces you to its world.

Maybe the idea was thanks to a lizard that I saw this morning and it was faster than me. I didn't manage to photograph her, but I did see her walking between the pots, as if she were coming out of hiding. Very interesting.

Plants always attract animals, which means there are always species to see.


Tricolor maguey before planting


Tricolor maguey planted in the ground

The maguey that I had already planted began to grow, producing children. I took some to make the fortress I want. So little by little I will make them take over that part of the territory.


Some children of the maguey that I had already planted weeks ago

I also took advantage of putting my observations into practice in the city of Lechería. I have 2 small agaves that are children of those I donated to the school yesterday. So from now on I'll start pruning them a little.

Something interesting to note about this technique is the following: When they are planted in pots it is very difficult to water them, very little water reaches their roots due to the large size of their leaves. By pruning them you can see and have access to the soil in the pot, making it easier to water the plant.

Before, when I had large agaves, I didn't know that they could be pruned, so it was very difficult for me to water them. Now I have learned, and I will be able to take care of them better.


Before pruning the agaves


After pruning the agaves

They are still small, but those leaves were not as strong as the upper ones. So I feel like I did the right thing in pruning it. I want you to focus your energy on growing.

On the other hand, another of the earrings was one of my cacti. I got trapped in the pumpkin plant. I didn't want to go over and take them to avoid hurting the plant. Until today, some pumpkin branches have given way.

Some parts are dry, others whose order of growth I don't know.

Take some for your old pot, some not. Tomorrow will be another day and I will take advantage of seeing where in the yard I can give them an appropriate space. It is a plant that grows in a disorderly manner. So I have to think carefully about where it will be.

Meanwhile, I would take care of the baby agaves. They couldn't wait, the smallest ones are now in a large pot, until they reach an appropriate size to be able to separate them.

While I also transplant the largest of them into a temporary pot, only this one is individual.


baby agaves


Agave in individual pot

Throughout this journey the cats were very busy. They were taking a nap because they had eaten. My dog, on the other hand was jumping up and down as usual, came to greet me more than once. It's very sweet.

We have already finished today, also the garden work, so I won't make you wait any longer, here is the final result. :)

22/05/24

Text and image of my authorship. Cover made in Canva based on my own photograph of my garden, and free resources in the app.


Hello, I'm Zul! I am an administrator, and I am dedicated to independent work, I also create online content. I love photography, writing, visiting places, nature, and making some thoughtful posts. In advance, thanks for reading.❤️❤️

YouTubeInstagramTwitterTikTokRumble

Buy my info-products here