35/365 : Red Insect

in Draw A Day2 years ago

Hello Creative people,

Welcome to 365 Draw A Day Drawing Challenge. A drawing challenge that aims to enjoin participants to create on a regular basis and thus help improve their skills. Today, my drawing is

35 insect.png

Hungry Insect

I want to draw an insect today. My first thought would be an ant or something like it. A cute insect that depicts a funny or interesting situation and in this case, an insect that rubs its tummy because of hunger.

Some process photos to give you an idea how I made it
image.png
I am thinking about the red ants at this stage of the drawing process. The purple color is a scarf. I am kind of considering what articles of clothing will I add. See the abdomen, there is a tiny waist here similar to wasps and ants.
image.png
When I drew that hat, I thought I would change the shape of the abdomen into something more solid and cylindrical. I also started to add a wing. I was editing as I went on.
image.png
Here the image, I flipped to face the left of my screen. The color red is very intense so I chose a shade that is more subdued. The purple scarf is now pink with a greyish shirt under it.
image.png
Some nice touches like the white buttons are cute and the legs too.
image.png
Here I extended the scarf and added some fringes on the lower part. This is looking cute already in my opinion. To complete the look I also extended the other part of the scarf at the back. The purple boots are the last details and I had to stop there. I did not want to add more. As you can see through the process photos, the image had some changes and I am glad I did those edits. I love how this one turned out. Hope you like it and thank you for your usual support and for dropping by.

This challenge as you can tell requires a ton of commitment as it literally involves creating one drawing for a whole year. Never fret if you miss a day or two just try to catch up or start on a day that you can. What matters most is you have fun with no pressure creating.

If you want to participate in this challenge here are some guidelines:

  • You may use the drawing prompt provided on a given day or make your own
  • As an alternative, you may recreate the drawing I posted on a given day like a DTIYS challenge if you wish
  • Add the countdown on your title like 00/365 if you desire
  • Use the hashtag: drawaday
  • Make your post or cross post on the Draw A Day Community

Draw A Day Community is the place where you can showcase your drawings for everyone to appreciate. There are several challenges that you can participate in or start your own like :

  • 5 Days Of Drawing
  • Pinky And Spiky Drawing Challenge
  • Doodle Magic Drawing Challenge
    There are other challenges available hosted by the members and if you want to start your own challenge here please do so.

Have fun creating.

365 draw a day challenge.jpg