Meet a fashion designer and the series of empowerment acts I have done for my business setups

in Be Entrepreneurlast month (edited)

Hello Hive.

Looking back now I can only smile at the process in which the business of garment construction came to stay in my family. Although I am the only seasmtress for now i still behold how my siblings are also picking interest in fashion designer looking at their creativity whenever they find left over fabrics to play with.
Choosing to learn fashion designing after graduating from the university with no job or a source of income became my first and ever business of which I can never overemphasize the role that fashion business has played in my life and family at large. Although I am not yet a professional fashion designer like those others you see all over the internet, it is often good to appreciate our little beginnings and the position I am today, Since I am able to sew for people and earn some tokens that sees to my needs and that if the family every now and then.

Screenshot_20240407-223048.jpg

Designed in Canva.

A Glimpse of what the business of fashion entails.

  • Skill Acquisition
    This is the number one and very essential aspect of fashion business. One has to train and be able to sell their creativity. There are so many competition in the fashion business and if you do not have/think of something unique to sell, one might probably linger for long in business without making a dime.

  • Workspace
    Having a workspace is very important. Depending on your kind or business, people are now creating work space in their homes just like the one I have done for myself here.
    Creating an enabling working environment for oneself. Renting a store is quite expensive for now and for business looking forward to full term provisions of services I have to work within budget until the finances to rent a store outside my apartment shows up.

IMG-20240407-WA0014.jpg
My image of my workplace

  • Working tools
    There will be no business without a working tool and over the years I have been purchasing these items one after the other. From manual machines now to electrical ones, working tables and chairs. Having the right working tools in whatever business makes everything faster and smoother. Whenever the stress of not having the right kind of machine (for the kind of job we need) is no longer there it makes work easy and convenient. Through a saving plan of both my #hive earnings and other source of income I have been able to purchase different kind of working tools over time.
    I equally got some support from sa good hive friend in purchasing the working tables, stools and chairs. Hive blessed me with not just finance but some quality people who have extended some hands to empower and support me as well.
  • Promoting ones brand and business
    Many thanks to the internet now we can buy/sell/render services from any location. Which means that I can pickup fabrics, design them and send them to my clients from any part of the world. I have the internet with me and can display what I sell for the world to see. Business location is not a hindering to any business in this century. Registration of business name and others are still alot of work to be done in order for our business to be fully recognized, nevertheless we are already in business of fashion designer doing what we can per time.

All of these things are what I have put in place for myself hoping for expansion, growth and a solid footing for my business. I have come to realized that having a university certificate alone is not enough but in the face of limited opportunity we have to empower ourselves, create a business and a source of finance

And one most important lesson I have learnt is that you don't have to wait/rely on a godfather or some persons to set you up for your business. Start with the little you can and if you are lucky to find support along the line that is a plus one for you. Human beings can disappoint and if you are solely replying on someone to get you established then there is a possibility that one will have to wait for a long time. Do the best you can to help yourself today.

This is my entry for the #aprilinleo daily prompt and if you are yet to come across this, you can check this link and make an entry

All images are mine.
Unless stated otherwise

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/monica-ene/re-leothreads-2i2j3xrx1
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( monica-ene ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Good evening @monica-ene. Thank you for sharing your experience of growth in the fashion world. Your insights and suggestions are valid for any venture, so you bring great value to our entrepreneurial work.

Success, may your achievements be constant and lasting.

Buenas noches @monica-ene. Gracias por compartirnos tu experiencia de crecimiento en el mundo de la moda. Tus apreciaciones y sugerencias son válidas para cualquier emprendimiento, por lo que nos aportas gran valor a quehacer emprendedor.

Éxitos, que tus logros sean constantes y duraderos.

Thank you so much, I appreciate these encouraging words.

Congratulations @monica-ene! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 27000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 28000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

It is actually cool to see that you are putting in great work in making sure that everything work out well as it is expected. You are an industrious woman just as I am. Some women will have been depending on urgent 2k 😂

Congratulations and keep the winning ways going @monica-ene

Felicitaciones y que sigan los triunfos @monica-ene

Sin título.png

Pixabay-Lavnatalia; edited at Paint

Thank you so much

👍

Wow! Good to see that you can sew. However you have outrightly and correctly spoken having just a certificate isn't enough at this time. A tech or manual skill can also go a long way in helping families at this time. Nice publication do have a great day.

Thanks alot for stopping by.