̶P̶o̶v̶'̶s̶ 🧘‍♀️ Justin's Culture Corner 🎈 Pinay Birthdays, Indonesian Donuts, Cebu Scooter Boys, How to Enjoy Cacao Fruit, & More!! 🍩

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago
Authored by @justinparke

bikes.png

Greetings ASEAN Hivers 🙏🏻, @sreypov is still deep in the countryside of Cambodia now, and without reliable internet, so once again this week I (@justinparke) am highlighting Southeast Asian travel and culture content from within the ASEAN Hive Community.

image.png

🧧🛕 Pov's Culture Corner 🕌🙇‍♀️

     This post comes a bit late because I didn't know Pov was still having internet issues. We are still in communication daily, but I didn't know the internet problem still persisted. That is why this curation is a day late, so like a broken record, thank you all once again for being patient during this time of instability in our lives. I am doing everything I can to open a door for my return to Cambodia ASAP.

     Anyhow, let's got ahead and jump into the Culture Corner, I have some really good reads for you all to enjoy.

image.png

image.png

Happy Birthday To My Niece! 🥰❤️

by:@shikika

     I am learning more and more on Hive that Filipina/os prepare party decorations better than just about anyone else on the planet. Even the 1st birthdays of little ones in the countryside are more extravagant than any party I've had, and I've survived to 38 years old. For this reason, when I see the word "party" and "Philippines" together, I want to read. For her niece's birthday, @shikika made a small house and crowd feel very big with an incredible spread on the table, a fabulous cake, asmiles all around.

image.png

image.png

Sharing Donuts With My Son's Playmates

by:@lebah

     When I think of donuts, I generally think of Cambodians, who I might add totally control the donut hustle in most of the US state of California. When I saw @lebah had some donuts to share with his son's friends, I wanted to have a look/read. I was pleased to see these donuts were made in-house with some big help from one of his daughters that's taken a liking to food prep.

image.png

image.png

Hand Crafted Wooden Scooters of Alcoy, Cebu

by:@jayparagat

     Surely most of you have seen these wooden scooters before. I've seen them on various TV programs and documentary films, and these gravity-driven wooden scooters are a big off-the-beaten-path tourist attraction. I have almost no interest in SCUBA diving, and I see it as something reserved for wealthier tourists. Considering I'm a farmboy from the countryside, seeing these kids race their handmade wooden scooters downhill would be one of the first things I'd want to see in Cebu.

image.png

image.png

How to eat cacao fruit

by:@luckylaica

     Most probably think of cacao or cocoa and think of bitterness. Just like the humble cashew, people often overlook the fruit itself, which is also edible. The flavor of the fresh fruit may surprise you, it's very tropical, and I've had the chance to try it in Ecuador, but didn't it was grown anywhere in SE Asia, as I always think of it as Latin-American agricultural product. Well I was wrong, @luckylaica has fresh cacao fruit in the Philippines so go have a look and learn a little more about this highly valued fruit.

🎟️ Mini Delegator Raffle 🎰
5% post beneficiary

Today's Winner
@davidke20
ticket #16,001

     Delegators are valued members of our community, so each @asean.hive curation post (other than the main weekly delegator raffle post) features a mini delegator raffle in the footer, with the winner receiving 5% post beneficiary.

1 HP Delegated = 1 Raffle Ticket

WANT TO SUPPORT THE
ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY?

FOLLOW OUR HIVE.VOTE VOTING TRAIL

feel free to use this banner/footer in your posts

If you would like to support the ASEAN Hive Community and the curation of Southeast Asian content on the Hive blockchain, please refer to the delegation links below.

All HIVE generated by the @ASEAN.Hive account will be powered up to support the community.

ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ.ʜɪᴠᴇ
ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ.ʜɪᴠᴇ
ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ.ʜɪᴠᴇ
ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ.ʜɪᴠᴇ
ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ.ʜɪᴠᴇ
ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ.ʜɪᴠᴇ
25 HP 🙏
50 HP 🥉
100 HP 🥈
250 HP 🥇
500 HP 🏆
1000 HP 🏆

🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏
👊 DON'T FORGET TO SMASH THE UPVOTE BUTTON 👊
☑️ SUPPORT SOUTHEAST CONTENT ON HIVE ☑️

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Oh my! I am featured here! 🥰
Thank you sir @justinparke. 🥰
It seems that Cambodia countryside is same in my hometown, the internet access is always s problem.
The #aseanhivers that are featured now are Filipinos except @lebah. 🥰

 2 years ago (edited) 
 2 years ago  

i hope they get good internet access soon..

congrats @jayparangat!

 2 years ago  

Me too, it could be as soon as today or tomorrow.

Congratulations @asean.hive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

I love learning from other ASEAN Hivers. If my family and I are ever in a position to travel throughout Southeast Asia, I feel we have a lot of destinations in mind thanks to ASEAN Hivers.