Sort:  

I was just thinking about the nouveau riche Bitcoiners and crypto folks buying up these dilapidated towns and turning them into citadels. :)

 2 years ago  

I'm not gonna say it's not impossible, but there is just so much working against this area. There are places with more affordable land and a better quality of life, and the obesity rates make people watching also very depressing. Shame, cause one of my favorite hobbies in Cambodia is just sitting somewhere and watching life happen. Indiana's not exactly the place to sit around and watch life happen.

we have too much land... also too much of that land have been 'built-up'

 2 years ago  

That is a really good question, one I am still unable to answer at 38 years old. I left this place in 2010 and received an upgrade in quality of life by relocating to Cambodia, not sure if that speaks highly of Cambodia or negatively of the area I'm from. This area didn't seem that bad to me growing up as a kid, but I had no references to compare it to. The only true incentives to move here I know come from foreign medical professionals, mostly Indians, whose visa policy makes them practice in underserved areas of the USA for several years, but I don't know the full details of those policies.