You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So the time has come, I am buying another bicycle

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 months ago

That looks like a really nice bike. I have one that used to be my dads and that is what my wife and I take camping with us. It's a Diamonback which used to be a pretty good brand, but I don't know if they are still around like they used to be. I love the basket. You are going to have to get something for the new bike. Just one gear? I haven't ridden a bike with just one gear since I was a kid! My buddy has a bike that has disc brakes and all kinds of fancy stuff. It's cool, but I don't ride enough to justify it.

Sort:  
 3 months ago  

Just one gear? I haven't ridden a bike with just one gear since I was a kid!

Yeah same here and those bikes were all BMX style bikes although I am sure my frugal family got me a Huffy!

The new bike isn't practical for anything other than street rides and I am already feeling as though I may have made a bit of a mistake by buying it because due to the lack of shocks i feel every imperfection in the road and in Vietnam there are a lot of imperfections in the roads.

The last pic would have been a better choice for me and I may end up selling this one after a month and just going and buying one of those. I did love the basket on the back and Nadi enjoyed it a great deal as well.

My friend has a basket on the front of her bike, but it makes it very heavy, so the wheel always turns and the bike falls down. I'm not in the best shape, so I really like the idea of those pedal assist bikes. Not a full on ebike, but if you are struggling up a hill it helps you out a little. If most places are flat though, that might not make a lot of sense. My buddy I was talking about before swears by GIANT brand bikes, but I honestly don't know.

 2 months ago  

I rode yesterday with a guy that was on a Giant mountainbike and for basically the entire time he was struggling to stay in a particular gear. These of course can be microadjusted but I have always had similar problems with bikes that have many gears. I think something to look out for when buying a bicycle is not so much the manufacturer of the frame because honestly, how different can they possibly be? The thing to look out for is the quality of the gear shifter thingy, whatever that is called.

Yeah, that makes sense. His is more of a touring bike I think. Not like the racing Schwinn style, but he sits very upright on it when he rides. It's a very big bike.