You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The demise of metered taxis in Thailand

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITYlast year

I am fortunate enough to hitch a few taxi cabs back in 2018 and 2019 in Bangkok. Back then, I got no problem using the cab, and it was proven to be more affordable than calling for Grab car, as long one assert the use of meter.

However, if I'm getting IN to the city from outside, I will only use Grab 🤣 Cabs are more aggressive when they're out of town. I tried once, the driver ask me to pay 200 baht or I can call Grab 🤣 then I know they're serious

No tuktuk for me 🤣 the last tuktuk ride was in 2015 in hatyai.

Sort:  
 last year  

I think that once you have ridden a tuk tuk for the tourist experience there is really no reason to ever do it again. It's slow, it's hot, it's loud, and it's expensive.

 last year (edited) 

Tuk-tuk can still be very affordable. The 2015 experience I had was not too bad as long we have a group of people riding in. Tour leader will negotiate for 200bht to get from A to B, if the driver doesn't agree he can fart off 🤣 but when we have oess than 4 and or the tour leader(our local friend) is not around... Shit just hits the fan. Landed in to a wrong snakepit, got chagred a bomb causing all arms and legs, and worst i heard someone got robbed 😔

 last year  

well that doesn't sound very good at all! haha