Decent street art discovered on the beach of Da Nang

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY6 months ago

There is an area to the south of Da Nang's main beach that is rather uninhabited. There are a ton of resorts there, but nobody really seems to be interested in staying at them. Some of these places have massive see walls and very little in the way of security, so this is a likely location for people to do some tagging. Vandalism is illegal here in Vietnam just like it is anywhere else, and most of the graffiti that we see is pretty terrible and amateurish. This stuff that I found on a walk yesterday is actually pretty good IMO.


image.png

While I am not normally a fan of tags like this, it at least has some nice patterns to it and appears as though a great deal of thought went into it. They also apparently used very high quality paint because it hasn't chipped and faded away despite being in the blazing sun for 6 hours a day.


image.png

This one is kind of more of the same and I appreciate the flow of color from top to bottom. When I inspected closely I did discover a bit of what I consider to be street art "cheating" where a brush or a finger was used in lieu of just spray. That's ok though. Compared to a lot of the other street art in this city, this one is still pretty top drawer.

The best one is next


image.png

Doing photos of a person is difficult enough but in a rushed environment where you likely do not have permission to be doing it, it is likely a lot more difficult. I inspected this one up close and it is done entirely with spray and no "cheating." I'm not really even certain who the person is. From a distance I thought it was Coolio but now I'm thinking it might be ODB. If you know who it is for sure, let me know.

The area behind these pieces is a massive swath of land that is occupied by yet another construction project that seems to have been permanently put on hold. The fact that anyone is bothering building massive resorts in this part of the country remains a mystery to me seeing as how almost nobody is staying in any of the resorts that already exist there. The beach is also nothing particularly special. I walked a great distance down that way and in the 2 hours or so I spent talking I only even saw about 10 people.

So I suppose if you were going to do some illegal street art, this would be the place to do it.

If you would like to see these pieces as well as many more that are not nearly as good, simply head south from the main Da Nang beach area and keep walking. You'll see them.

Sort:  

Some real talent as like you say they don't have days to create this and these are well thought out well ahead of time.

 6 months ago  

I don't know what the punishment is for defacing property in Vietnam is. It's likely pretty harsh but real police don't walk the beat on the beach, if it was a bunch of kids they would have likely just had to outrun a single security guard that was likely elderly, overweight, or both.

 6 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ