Just put that anywhere!.... Da Nang edition

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 years ago

This country, which I love by the way, had a less than stellar reputation for cleaning up stuff. We have a sanitation department, we have bins (garbage cans) but a lot of the times things just get put somewhere and left for someone "else" to figure out what to do with it and I'm not trying to be a foreigner that knows better, but it does seem quite odd a lot of the time.

Here's some photos of stuff that just got left somewhere and it just became someone else's problem.


188562688_176386331156887_4815038320825959852_n.jpg

There is a new bar being built here. It is meant to be an Irish bar because that is all the rage in South East Asia. When they were finished demolishing the existing structure they put everything involved in the construction that they didn't need on the plot next door. Someone else's problem now i guess. By the way the new building looks awesome but maybe clean up the rubbish before you open?


191744833_2821258188204594_2525848568467819806_n.jpg

More of the same but from the same bar. This place used to be a mini-mart called K-Market but now it is going to be an Irish bar. Hopefully they will clean this up soon but honestly, this will probably just get moved across the street.


187997547_2314915075310673_1133258437986546227_n.jpg

Speaking of "across the street... that is already a dumping ground for a lot of people apparently. Opposite this upcoming bar is an area that isn't occupied by any business and people just seem to drop their garbage here. This steel roofing may have been used at some point, but it isn't now.....and it has been in this place for months


191569407_505357384234553_4069289422630476575_n.jpg

I don't know how many times that I have been walking down the street and my shoes broke and I just decided to leave them there in my life.... But this is what happened to this person. At least they had the decency to put them in a plant potter so that they can i guess rot there.


192532665_2602129280089407_6980700888736213725_n.jpg

Lastly, this one is my favorite because it has been sitting here ever since i moved here 3 years ago. This comes from when the city decided that they were going to change all the street-lights from cement to metal for some reason even though there was nothing wrong with the cement ones.

If the city doesn't care about where they leave their "garbage" I suppose it is only natural that the inhabitants would also not care..

These are the streets of Da Nang, Vietnam and I took all of these photos in one day. If you go just about anywhere in this city you will see more of the same. It's just garbage in the streets all the time. It's a shame but I suppose if no one is going to do anything about it that is why the people just continue to throw trash out all over the place all the time.

Before anyone gets offended I want you to understand that there is a lot that I love about this country. It could just be a lot better if everyone got together and cared a lot more about how they were treating the environment.

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Yvec4f1mdEgUghBsiMcfU8WUD2NxU6h6zS5pmQvid3SB4zr.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Definitely problems I am familiar with, but I have been the source of this at least once. I remember once upon a time trying to fly out of Phnom Penh back to the USA, but my bags were a little overweight. I decided to wear some mountaineering boots I hadn't used in 8 years.

Needless to say they started to turn to powder after my first 20 steps, which happened to be in the middle of the main building's check-in gates. Within another 10 steps, I had left an embarrassing trail of trash. One of the security guards with an AK-47 was staring at me, so I approached him and asked in Khmer where a trashcan was.

He pointed to a far-off place, so I had to sockwalk with all my luggage and what shoe remnants I could scoop up to the nearest trashcan, whose opening was too small for my boots. In the end I had to place them on the ground next to the trashcan. When I came back to the check-in gates swarms of people were walking around and avoiding my shoe-trash trail and making lots of interesting comments about it.

 3 years ago  

haha, what an interesting story. That has to be a rarity. Almost all of the shoes that I purchased in USA and brought over here with me for one reason or another have fallen apart. The difference in heat and humidity is no doubt the problem. The only shoes that this has not happened with have been New Balance and since I am right at the correct age for those shoes anyway, I don't mind those being my shoe of choice. Now if I could just find a lawn to mow.

 3 years ago  

This is a problem everywhere I have been in SEA. The canal that is near my house here in Chiang Mai is just disgusting and filled with trash. I realize that they don't have a particularly good sanitation department but every now and then I see people catching fish out of that same water, which is just terrifying to me. I wouldn't eat that!

 3 years ago  

Thanks @jack.russelle for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 35

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

we have a similarly yucky looking river here as well and people are fishing in it constantly. I hope they are deep frying them fishies!

 3 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ