OSHA would love these construction standards in Vietnam

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY12 days ago

The construction standards in Vietnam are, as far as I can tell, that you can do whatever you want and the safety of the people working on these jobs don't really exist. I think the workers are kind of left to their own devices about whether or not they actually want to be safe at all an this one job I witnessed near my building was particularly scary to me.


image.png

From here it doesn't look so bad and just looks like a normal job I guess but there are certain things that have happened in the year or so that they have been building it that the safety officials in the western world would have a field day with. The complete absence of hard hats and people wearing flip-flops on a construction site are pretty wild to me, but when I saw this, since I am a bit afraid of heights, kind of made me stand back in awe a bit.


image.png

They were installing the glass around the pool on the roof and I would guess they are maybe 10 stories off the ground. That guy is not tied in at all and I guess I have to say that I really admire his bravery. One little slip and he is in big trouble and perhaps dead.


image.png

He had two other people that were helping him get this glass installed around the pool and I was on the edge of my seat just watching them. I couldn't tell for sure but I think at least 2 of the techs were wearing sandals. I suppose they know what they are doing and I don't judge them for doing this because they're not dead, and they do this all the time.

Something else I noticed was that this pool, and rooftop pools are very common here, looks just terrible. Other than having a dip to cool off what are people actually going to do there? It seems as though your only option would be to stand in the water for a bit and then get bored and just leave. There is no space for seating either so I guess everyone has to go to the other side of the building if they want to have something like a sun lounger.

Also, those glass panels have proven very problematic for a lot of buildings in this area in the past. My own building used to have glass panels around the pool but during the monsoon season the winds got so crazy that some of the were thrown off the building. As far as a I know nobody got hurt but those panels are VERY heavy and if one hit you, I think it would almost certainly kill you. I saw a car that was crushed by one of these things and while I am not a doctor, I think that if something can crush a car it wouldn't have much trouble with crushing me.

This building will likely be finished soon and I for one have no intention of looking at a room there. That pool is just pathetic. Hats off to the guys doing this build, you are extremely brave people!

Sort:  

I’ve been wondering why these workers aren’t afraid of hieghts? I thought that they put a net below the building in case they fall, it’ll catch them. It isn’t safety wearing the hard hats and flipflops only. It’s saddened to hear the government there who cannot provide their safety gears.

Maybe it's also scary to swim in a pool at the top of the building. Maybe I prefer to just go to the river.

 11 days ago  

I guess they are not afraid of heights but no, there are no nets to catch them if they fall. I don't know what happens if they do fall but I doubt it would be anything criminal on the part of the construction company. The family would probably get a cash payout and that would be the end of it.

The government doesn't get involved in such things here in Vietnam. Construction companies appear to be able to do whatever they want.

 11 days ago  

oh and you wouldn't want to swim in the river here unless you enjoy getting a disease from all the pollution and dodging plastic bottles on your swim.

Hard hats wont really help from that height lol. I wonder what the stats are per deaths per building with construction because you would think there must be more than one. As long as the building regulations are up held especially with high buildings because I think that worries me more than the safety standards.

 11 days ago  

I wonder what the stats are per deaths per building with construction because you would think there must be more than one

There is certainly some deaths and injuries but the companies and the government certainly isn't going to tell us about that.

Yes I imagine it would not be a good idea to let everyone know how bad thigs are. When you see the photographs back in the early days of those guys building the sky scrapers in New York you do wonder how many guys fell off.

 5 days ago  

it's funny you would mention the Empire State Building stuff because I just randomly happened to encounter some video of that a day or two ago. Even the camera operator had balls of steel. I'm gonna look up how many people died: Wow, I'm a bit surprised. Only 5 people died.

That is quite impressive being such a low number because I would imagine that number would be way higher with the way people are today.

 9 hours ago  

oh the way people are today we would have people trying to do tiktoks and falling to their deaths in much higher numbers than just 5. People are idiots today... you have to have your wit and your head in line back in the day. Today, everyone needs everything to basically be done for them in a completely safe environment to even consider working.

Namaste 🙏, bravery is good but for life it's dangerous. I saw skilled labour used to this situation but needed to be strict to follow guidelines.

It's dangerous to the workers. The PPE is the basic thing must have to the workers. @gabe.radke

 11 days ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ