Sort:  
 last month  

No worries my man, if I wanted to make $1,000 USD per month teaching English in a big town, I could do it. I have lived that life in the past, but after our experience in Suriname, I am kind of done with 99% of my fellow human beings. This Hive job allows us the freedom to live in the middle of nowhere, no regrets. I do need to make some changes though, and hopefully this summer I'll have a friend move in with us. With some hired help things will be more consistent, and I can allow my wife to just have free time and focus on her health.

Lately my daughters have taken on this habit too, and it's an unfortunate part of the Khmer culture. There is an illness in Cambodia called "self hurt" in Khmer, and it's kind of like a body ache in English, but it's an excuse that can allow you to miss school 5-6 times a month and even miss work 10 days or more a month. Businesses here always overstaffed because at least 40% of the workforce is going to be sick at any given time. I personally think it's depression, but the locals here don't connect the dots between mental and physical health.

Sorry to ramble, thought might find this interesting. I just saw a study the other day too that says Cambodians are more depressed than folks in Myanmar. Kind of crazy to think a country at war is happier than the average Cambodian.