Some new street art and rock climbing building repairs

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY4 years ago

So it has been a slow week for me since our movement is kind of limited here in Da Nang at the moment. It isn't because of Covid or anything but because we are in the middle of a two week storm of epic proportions. This isn't just rainy season but it is a storm that just wont go away and it is relentless. For the most part it hasn't been terribly damaging but there has been some flooding and a couple of business owners that I know have had their roofs collapse. To be fair to the roofs, these businesses had some pretty terrible designs such as using that really inexpensive sheet metal for a roof and well, you should have seen that coming because that stuff was never meant to be a permanent structure.

121702444_398137214525395_3558175606893103621_n.jpg

That is the view from my roof basically all the time. We haven't seen the sun in about 8 days at this point and while rain doesn't bother me a great deal and I never try to get a tan, it is a bit annoying that we can't go and do anything without being in danger of getting soaked.

My own building was leaking and even my own condo unit had a very bad and annoying leak in the bedroom window that would result in the water running down to the floor. Attempts on my part to catch it with a towel resulted in said towel being completely soaked in just half a day or so. Apparently the rest of the building was experiencing the same thing because the dryers in the basement (which thankfully has NOT flooded) have been very popular lately and there are normally queues that are several hours long to use one of them.

During a brief period of respite from the storm which lasted about half a day the owner of our condo got to work quickly to seal the windows and other cracks and I was impressed that a landlord would go to these lengths to help us out. I was a little surprised how it happened though.

121832638_1937516826391276_3897417478084156682_n.jpg

I heard a sound from my sofa and all of a sudden I saw a guy that was floating outside my window. My first reaction was that it was Vampires from "The Lost Boys" but then I remembered it was daytime. So this guy is going down the side of the building with a bucket and a rope and sealing all the windows. It doesn't look like the safest contraption but I do enjoy the ingenuity that the Vietnamese will use. At first I thought he was using a garden hose to rappel down the side of the building and based on some of the other "safety standards" that exist (don't exist) in this country it honestly wouldn't surprise me if someone out there was doing precisely that.

So on to the graffiti or street art that I found recently.

121702982_349247316182392_7300633762977999912_n.jpg

This was down some side alley attached to a bar / coffee shopt and based on the look on Droopy's face I would be willing to bet that they also have a sort of weed atmosphere in there as well. I did not go in because they were not open and sine weed isn't really my thing I am unlikely to do so. I did admire the artistry but upon closer inspection very little of this is spray and it is very clearly done with brushes, which is something I admire a bit less. It was still an impressive piece though and is much better than I can do, that is for sure.

That's it for now from Da Nang... Hope all of you are having a great day!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabe.radke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month
 4 years ago  

Congratulations @gabe.radke on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community.
Have a !BEER 🍺 because your post is one of our

ASEAN Hive Community's 🌏 Daily Top 3️

 4 years ago  

thanks buddy. I'm gonna have to look into what this beer stuff is sometime :)

 4 years ago  

When you have 24 of them, you can use the commmand once a day to beer someone. They must be staked though. I have 72 staked to the @asean.hive curation account, allowing me to use the command 3 times per day. It's just a little extra reward, as we are a grassroots community for now.

I try to support the commenters of all ASEAN Hive Community posts, and I think that is unique. A thoughtful quick comment in this community can be worth 5 to 10 cents. It's not much, but I am trying to make the most of what I have to work with.