Doggo bath day

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

My dog is extremely compliant during baths. She doesn't like water, she jumps over tiny puddles even when we go on short walks and she absolutely hates the rain. it is clear to me that if it was left up to her that she would never take a bath and would prefer to just sit around stinking up the furniture until the end of time.

It is over the course of many years that I have trained her that this process has to happen and these days she doesn't even resist when the time comes for the dreaded bathtime that happens around once a week.


240943029_249445743748940_4932183368504767995_n.jpg

It might sound unusual to anyone living in the west but it is actually quite unusual for bathrooms here to have bathtubs at all. There really isn't much reason to have that here as everyone just showers quickly and sitting in a tub of water basking in your own filth isn't something that appeals to many South East Asians. Also, the weather is almost always very hot here and using as much water as is required to fill up a bathtub is considered to be wasteful, which it is.

My condo just happened to have a tub and I have never used it to take a bath for me, or for my dog. It does help a bit in letting Nadi (my dog) realize that this is the bathing area and she is to stay in there until instructed otherwise.


image.png

When all the soap has been removed from her I will leave her in the tub for a few minutes to allow her to drip dry and she just looks at me with those perpetually sad looking eyes until the next phase of our cleaning process begins. This time I accidentally got her into a really cute pose and told her to "stay" as I went out to get my camera.

She is such a good dog. Even though she couldn't see me anymore she held the pose until I returned.


image.png

At this point she is getting really excited because we have done this enough times that she is well aware of the fact that the torture is nearly over and is going to be followed up with a bunch of treats as well as belly rubs. But not before we go through the hair drying process which I think she dislikes a lot more than the water.

After all that excitement and the treats are all ate up, she will go and find one of her many beds and lies down for one of her many sleeps of the day.


image.png

She has a total of 5 beds in my small apartment but the one she likes the most is an area that was actually originally designed for my feet. I don't move her, I move my legs around her. We spent a few hours relaxing in this position until I switched off the TV and this is when she can tell by the sound that the TV makes that it is time for us to move to the bedroom. How did I ever end up with such an amazing and well-behaved doggo!?

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

My dog, Uku Chan doesn't like water and try to avoid puddle too. I always close the bathroom door when bathing Uku Chan as he will run away and try to avoid getting a bath. Same as Nadi, he also doesn't like being blown during the drying process and will sleep afterward. !LUV

 2 years ago  

I try to be very careful with the hair dryer because it does get really hot. When I am drying her I always put my hand next to where I am pointing the dryer. If it starts to hurt my hand, it is also hurting Nadi!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Nadi, it is a cute and obedient dog too. you are very lucky to have him, especially if he has been with you for years. you can say you and Nadi are a happy little family 😊

Thank you for sharing with us this happy story my friend 🙏

 2 years ago  

Getting a dog while not living permanently in any country has been a blessing and a curse. She is the highlight of my day and I like to believe that I am hers as well. However, it becomes a lot more difficult to move around, especially from country to country when you have a dog. Also, many apartments and houses have very strict no pet rules and when you do find one that allows them, you are always going to have to pay quite a bit more to live there with your doggo.

You are very lucky! Our dog has a very high anxiety level, so it can be quite stressful at times when she won't settle. She only gets baths when we return from camping. She knows to go right down to the tub in the downstairs bathroom when @mrsbozz brings her in. She honestly handles the baths quite well. She might now enjoy them but she at least tolerates them.

 2 years ago  

I had a dog in college that hated water and would fight me, not in a vicious way, every time I gave her a bath. It was also a black lab and this was a difficult situation. Well, Nadi hates water too but she understands that it is a process that it is futile for her to resist. She also knows that there are plenty of snacks that will be given to her after a successful completion.

Snacks are always the great equalizer!

it seems that your pet really likes water? lol

 2 years ago  

oh no, she definitely hates it but she understands that resisting is a non-starter and it is going to happen anyway so she might as well just let me get on with it and get it finished as fast as possible.

I thought, he looked happy, apparently I was wrong!! lol

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  

Very very cute this doge. I have 1 female dogs in my home this name is Jully

 2 years ago  

Poor Nadi, she looks absolutely defeated in the first couple shots. Luckily she redeemed herself with the towel turban pic, made her look almost 10 years younger. May you live long and never know the taste Ol' Roy kibble.