Dumbo reaching mass adoption. Also: A DUMBO legend departs for good

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

When the country locked down in April of last year and even when they reopened the bowling alleys were not going to be a priority for things people are allowed to to, things didn't look good for our bowling league. We went from 3 original members to 5 and later had so many people that the lanes we go to had to reserve the entire bowling alley just for us for several hours every Thursday. At one point we turned up there and had nearly 40 participants which meant the 12-lane alley was getting a bit more crowded than we like it to be.


image.png

During the 8 months that our lanes were closed, 75% of our members moved away. Some did so because they had to due to visa reasons, other for the holidays, and others because they though the covid restrictions would be easier in other countries (Pro Tip: The restrictions are not easier elsewhere and everyone who left for this reason regrets it). Our DUMBO numbers dropped down to near nothing so when we had our first official meetup last week I was delighted when 15 people turned up.


image.png

Most of the people were first timers and that is fine and almost none of them are any good at bowling which is also fine. DUMBO isn't about bowling excellence, it is about getting together with friends, maybe make a few new friends, and then spend the rest of the day drinking beer.

This was also our first time back at our old lanes. If you follow my stuff you know that the other lanes we discovered is technologically superior, far more comfortable, and overall just a better bowling alley. The only two problems is that it is much further away from where we live and also that they don't have big enough holes in most of the bowling balls to accommodate our hands.


image.png

So we have decided that even with its tech shortcomings that this is where we are going to have our meeting every week and it is a good thing too because if all 15 of those people had turned up at the other lanes, 12 of us would need to share bowling balls because of the size issues. Our original lanes and the ones in the pictures are dated and have a 1970's feel to them, most of the cupholders are broken, the pins are often misracked and you have to use the call button because the machine just decides to stop giving the balls back and stuff like this, but we'll get over it.


image.png

One kind of tragic thing that happened this past Thursday that we all knew was coming was that it was the final week of one of DUMBO's founders, graciously known as "Crap Hat." He, myself, and one other person are considered the "founding fathers" of the group and that's because we are. It was us that decided to make this a weekly thing that grew into a rather large group of dedicated members.

He is leaving the country and is actually in the airport right now as I type this. He and his missus are heading back to Thailand because they prefer it there and honestly, I can't really argue with that. Other than the economics I prefer Thailand over Vietnam as well. Bon Voyage, Crap Hat. You will be missed that is for sure.

Our numbers are meant to grow again this upcoming Thursday as word travels quickly about how much fun it is. I'm not sure if I necessarily want it to grow really big again but so be it!

Sort:  

That is great that you are able to get together again. I know how much I looked forward to those Friday nights when I was on a league. It was quite fun. That's too bad that people are moving away. I guess that is just life though. Were you ever able to find a running group in your new home like you had in your last one?

 2 years ago  

Yeah it is really a great time. The only annoying thing is the smokers because when they vanish for a "quick smoke" it takes like 20 minutes since the lanes are on the 5th floor and there is no indoor smoking area.

I tried to START one of those running groups and we were gaining traction and then Covid destroyed it. I don't know how much longer I will be here at this point so I don't think I will try again to get one started.

You still thinking of Mexico, central, or south America? Or are you looking at Thailand again now?

 2 years ago  

because of the dog, it is a lot more difficult for me to move around than the average person that just jumps on a plane with a visa. If i have to leave Vietnam for some reason i will likely head towards Thailand if I can. That place feels like home to me because I can speak their super-secret magic language.

Let's go bowling! That's a shame that your numbers diminished, but at least your out and about again. I know you have enjoyed the league and the beer! 😁

 2 years ago  

I think that anyone's scores would drop after 8 months of being forced off "the tour"... I was prepared for that but it is frustrating still. I had a better week this week.

It's sad to hear that one founder is leaving. I've never been to a bowling alley before, and I've never even held a bowling ball before. Maybe in the future, I could finally play bowling with some friends because it looks like a lot of fun!

 2 years ago  

He got a great sending off and he is happy about the fact that he is leaving. His story was a fun one because he was on holiday here in Vietnam and ended up getting stranded here for 22 months due to Covid.

I officially raise a tall one for Crap Hat!

hivebeer.png

May he travel to new lands, found a foreign dumbo chapter, and scoop up the championship as many times as he can before it catches on and real bowlers show up to rain on the parade.

It will grow as big as it will and it is a noble thing to be multiplying that joy.

 2 years ago  

we are hopeful that Craphat will start a DUMBO league where he ends up next. He'll have to change the first letter but it would be fun to have inter-league play once we are able to travel like normal humans again.

 2 years ago  

I've been hearing rumors for years that Phnom Penh has a proper bowling alley, but I've never been. The only place(s) I know of in Cambodia where one could roll a ball is a few five start hotels which supposedly have a lane or two inside. I'd love to take my family bowling one day, and this post might just be the motivation I need to go hunt down PP's only proper bowling alley. Congrats on getting things up and running again.

 2 years ago  

I'd be very surprised if Cambodia doesn't have lanes. It seems to be quite popular with a lot of Asians. I do know, however, that it is a HUGE investment on the part of the owner since this equipment isn't exactly something that is available just anywhere and the wood has to be maintained in a very specific way and this is probably even more complicated in very humid countries like these ones.

It would be a great day out for you and the family though. I hope you get to do it!

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 2 years ago  

Now that I'm wondering how can I travel to your Vietnam and join you guys for a Dumbo meet 🤣 lemme bring you a ball with big enough holes to fit your fingers.

Well, if Thailand is where he prefer, then good for him. This window of opportunity to transfer out or in can be a thin red line. Anytime it will just go burst and boom, lockdown again for some political reason.

 2 years ago  

Yeah he was worried about this "we're open!" policy changing for Thailand depending on the political motivations of whoever is in power at any particular point in time. That is the main driving force behind Covid restrictions in my mind.

 2 years ago  

He said it all. Technically the entire Asia region is playing that the political tricks now

 2 years ago  

He summed it up pretty well. There are a lot of people that are getting really frustrated with the lack of consistency as far as events are concerned. Shopping malls remain open and packed in Thailand (from what I've heard) as well as Vietnam but you can't have a drag race outdoors? There's much more at play here than just the prevention of disease and that is what making so many people get upset.