I Cooked For The First Time! : Cooking Based From My Mother's Recipe

This was the first time I cooked soup entirely by myself. I used to cook fried chicken all the time because it was very easy, but I got tired of eating the same thing repeatedly, so I cooked something that I learned from my mother.

My mother does not really cook because my father cooks all the time for us, and my mother also has trouble when it comes to tasting because she does not know whether to add salt, water, or msg. So she just stopped cooking altogether.

Back then, my father worked the night shift, which meant that my mother was in charge of cooking for us, and when she would not fry something (which was the thing that she mostly did), she would cook us this soup.

I don't even know the name of this dish, I just remembered it from memory. I also have trouble with tasting, so help me, God.

IMG20220126104122.jpg

The ingredients are:

  1. Pork
  2. Tomatoes
  3. Potato
  4. Bell Pepper
  5. Onion
  6. Garlic
  7. Salt
  8. Soy sauce

The first step, of course, is to clean them up, chop them into manageable pieces, and prepare everything before the cooking process.

IMG20220126105746.jpg

Next is to heat up a pot, put oil on it, and sauté the onion and garlic.

IMG20220126110545.jpg

Once they turn a little bit brown, you can now put the tomatoes in.

IMG20220126110632.jpg

After some time, you can add in the pork and add some salt to hasten the extraction of the liquid from the pork- a trick I learned from my father.

IMG20220126110800.jpg

After all the liquid has been extracted and gets a little bit dry, you can now add some water to soften the pork pieces.

IMG20220126111644.jpg

The next step is to let it simmer until the meat is soft enough to eat. After that, we can add soy sauce.

IMG20220126112616.jpg

I forgot to take a picture of the following steps, but I basically put the potatoes in and let it simmer until it got soft, and then added the bell pepper last.

After that, we can now add salt and msg to taste. I had to do lots of taste tests just so I could get the right mixture that was not too salty, and not too bland, just perfect.

My father actually went home because he wanted to take some of the soup and eat it together with my mother at the hospital, glad to say, he was very impressed, so was my sister and brother. And if you don't believe me, well;

IMG20220126115820 (1).jpg

Nothing was left on the pot, not even leftovers for Angelo, don't worry, though. I bought some sardines for his lunch.

Thank you for reading my post. See you next time on another blog about my cooking!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

The soups look delicious. The details, ingredients you tell us is very clear. It always great to cook the food by ourself. For me I would prefer the homemade food rather than an outdoor food. You know your recipe, that great. I still appreciate your cooking even though it is the first time for you because, there are not every person especially the men who prepare for the meal, in my country ; they prefer girls to do this kind of work( Housework) rather than the boys. So, Why not to appreciate your brilliant cook.

Thank you so much for your compliment! I agree with the homecooked meals, they are 100x better than fast-food. Yes, that is an idea that has been ingrained for us for a long time and I think it's about time we change that.

 2 years ago  

try add some onion 👍👍

Will add them next time! Thank you for the advice!

 2 years ago  

No problem my friend. Most welcome ☺️☺️

Yayyy! It feels so good to cook for the first time, congrats and keep going @humbledwriter 🎉🎊😍❤️

It really does feel good!!! Thank you so much!!!!

 2 years ago  

Good thing you know how to cook. You don't need to depend on your mom or dad. 😊i am pretty sure it tastes really good!

Yes, because they work a lot, we are left on our own to prepare our food. Thank you so much for stopping by!

 2 years ago  

pag nagutom talaga ano.. You did great on your first time of cooking

Oo talaga, ahahahhahaha. Thank you so much! Will keep on improving!

Not bad for a first timer hahaha hope to taste it soon!

Thank you so much!!!! Keep safe always!

 2 years ago  

Good work! Especially for first time. I'm not in any ground the comment cause I don't know how to cook either. Last pandemic lockdown almost had me starve to death.

Thank you so much! Oh, no that's unfortunate to hear, but I'm glad that you could go out to eat nowadays.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you so much!

Yes! I'm learning a lot from posts here on Hive about cooking.