Sublime Beautiful Sunday | Boat ride on a weekend ?

It's Sunday... And it's time for another Beautiful Sunday and Sublime Sunday. So, I'm trying something new this week. Something out of the box, something different, something wild, something odd and who knows where this Sunday will lead us.

IMG_4553.JPG

There are many rivers or canals such as these circulating around the city of HCMC. Not the most pleasant sight but if you take one of these tourist boats, you would be able to see the inner city. I've never taken one before because I've never been encouraged nor impressed too. But, on this day as I walked across the bridge overlooking the canal, I was a bit inclined to consider taking it. But, once again, I was discouraged by my local colleagues not too 😆 They felt that it was a waste of time and if I wanted to take a boat ride, I should opt for the tourist ride from Bạch Đằng port which can bring me through Mekong Delta and as far as Vũng Tàu.

IMG_4554.JPG

I caught sight of 2 guests who seemed to be tourist to the city talking to a local. I guess they are considering to take the boat ride on this Sunday morning. After all, the weather is good - windy & not too sunny. I do hope they're prepared to see what HCMC has to offer. It is definitely a faster way to see the city on the boat & perhaps much safer as well. The streets are filled with motorbikes and if one doesn't know how to cross the streets in HCMC, it's best to have a driver to knows how to maneuver his way around.

IMG_4555.JPG

The location of this port is just about 5 minutes walk away from my apartment building and nearby to the local wet market where I buy my weekend provisions. So, I do see it every week but I don't have the calling to take the ride yet.

If you're ever in HCMC and for the first time, you might want to consider taking this boat ride but don't say I didn't warn you. The result may not be what you're expecting but perhaps still worth a try !

cooltext343304256655053.png

#SublimeSunday is inspired by @c0ff33a while #BeautifulSunday is initiated by @ace108. Both of whom share similar wonderful thoughts of how Sundays should be for all of us.

Blue Dynamic Fitness Youtube Thumbnail.png

Sort:  

I think you should still go some boat some day when the day was nice.
I went one in Bangkok and it was a touristy one but it was nice to get around on one as you thought

I’ve sat the one in BKK. And this is no where near the same 😆

This must be a place to visit while Visiting Malaysia ✨

Oh no not in Malaysia but in Vietnam
I don’t think there any city boat ride Malaysia .. if there is I’ve never seen one

 2 years ago  

I guess the only way to know for sure would be to catch some passengers disembarking and ask them if it was worth it. It’s always nice to see things from a different perspective.

Even in Cambodia, living in one neighborhood, I noticed different things when walking versus riding a bicycle, motorbike, or even a Tuk-Tuk.

Have you take any boat rides in Vietnam anywhere else on previous trips?

I’ve sat in a more remote city boat ride before in Vietnam .. that is in the city known as Can Tho.. it’s about 3 hrs by car ride before I reach Can Tho. Nice place to chill for a short staycation

It's really a nice weekend vacation to be able to enjoy the view over the bridge. I also imagine dear if I ride the boat I am very happy that the view of the city is very very beautiful. I've actually also been on a boat once but it was only on a marshy lake not in the middle of a city like that.

Indeed many ways to see the city. Maybe I will consider the boat ride

wow great idea. May your wish come true

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Might be an awesome option to ride the boat not only to see the beautiful sights,, but to also de-stress. I find boat rides very calming.