Bad expat behavior is all too common in Thailand

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY11 months ago

I'm not talking about tourists. I think it is expected that tourists are going to act up especially when they have only a few weeks to get as crazy as possible in what is basically a candy-land for people to do almost anything they want without getting in trouble.

Tourists regularly get overwhelmingly drunk and act like fools in tourist areas and that is why most of us that live here decide to avoid these areas. It's not that we don't like to get crazy every now and then, it is just that once you are actually part of the expat community, you don't really like getting lumped in with the newbies who honestly, kind of make all of us foreigners look bad often. We long-termers try not to be too judgmental because we were probably all there at one point in our lives.


image.png
src

I was forwarded an article by someone recently entitled "Dangerous realities for expats in South East Asia" and when I was reading through it I was kind of chuckling because I know multiple people that fall into almost all of the categories that they had listed as their "realities."

I think the biggest one that ends up getting so many of the expats is the east of access to a drunken or drug-filled life with little chance of there ever being any serious repercussions. If you are the type of person that is prone to drunkenness, not in a fun way but or dangerous and self-destructive way, I don't think that Thailand or probably any of the the other countries around here, are going to be for you.

I have seen so many people piss their lives away over here and the only thing they really ever do is go out and get smashed. There is a pub that I go to in my local area around 12km outside of the city center in Chiang Mai and there is this group of mostly older fellas that are always there. I mean ALWAYS. I pop in a couple of times a week for a pint or two but the same guys who are almost exclusively in their 60's, are in the same spots, normally trashed, talking about the same things over and over again. By the time these guys leave the pub/restaurant they are normally having difficulty walking, and some of them even drive while in this state.

In the west we would seriously reconsider driving under the influence or drunk but here in Thailand you are almost certainly not going to get in trouble for this. You certainly are never going to get pulled over for it. Really the only way that you are ever going to get in trouble for this is if you crash and kill someone. Even hurting other people with a drunk crash can be made to go away with a little bit of money and I don't think this is a good system at all.

I don't want the police to be all up in our business here and really, they aren't and that is a big part of the reason why I like it here. However, there are some people out there that if left to their own devices are going to make bad decisions most of the time no matter what you say to them.


image.png
src

I'm not trying to say that this is exclusively a problem of foreigners. There are plenty of drunk idiot local people as well and they get away with the same irresponsible behavior as the foreigners do, probably a lot more frequently.

I just know that when it is a foreigner that has one eye open on the side of the road outside of a 7-11 it reflects negatively on the expat community as a whole, not just on that one person. This isn't fair but that is the way that it is.

I can't speak for other expat communities outside of Chiang Mai and maybe Phuket where I have some experience but this does seem to be a rather common problem with them all. For whatever reason people just throw all the sensibilities that they would normally have in their home countries out the window and just think that they can do whatever they want here with impunity.

I don't think that is a very good way to live your life because come on! I'm sure we have all noticed someone extremely drunk and annoying in public at one point in our lives or another. Do we really want to add to the problem?

I'm not saying to never get drunk, but all too many of the expat community make that really, the only focal point of their existence. Surely there are other things that they could be doing like, I dunno, maybe a hobby of some sort that doesn't involve booze?

Sort:  

Cheap booze and warm weather is not a great combination and seeing the same people in a pub every day is rather common. When I was working as a barman in the UK (2nd job) regulars had their own bar stools and only became available when someone died. They used to get peeved if some outsider happened to stop by for a drink and take their seat. Some you could set your watch by the time they arrived as it was the same time every day. Talk about a boring existence and yes the same topics which drove me insane.

 11 months ago  

Would anyone get physical if someone else sat in their seats? Were they marked? It seems like it would be an innocent enough mistake if someone sat in your seat when they had no idea it was your seat.

This is kind of the same at the bars I reference but i think that it is rather a case of them always being there before any other potential patrons arrive rather than the seat being reserved.

This does seem all too common. The story is always the same. A group of expats assembled at the bar at 10:00 am, and the discussions are the same no matter where you are.

I haven't been here long, but have seen it enough times I almost question if I drink enough to qualify as an expat here! 😆

I like the 'live and let live' attitude of Thailand, but at what point does that create more problems than it solves? That could certainly be an interesting discussion!

Well, back to work for me. The farm keeps me far to busy to hang out in the bars. Probably a good thing!

Keep up the good stuff my friend!

Regards

Richard Taylor

 11 months ago  

I think not drinking enough to qualify as an expat is something that I face here as well. Those boys at the bar would never accept me as one of their own but honestly, that doesn't bother me a great deal. They are all fat, seem to be miserable, and are in terrible health and seem to be content to stay that way.

I think anyone that is on a beer before noon unless it is a holiday or something like that has problems.

Strange why I rarely see this in Taiwan, is this more of an SEA thing?

 11 months ago  

I think that it probably is global, but only in countries like Thailand where it is quite common and popular for expats to retire there because it is cheap. Taiwan has a lot of expats but they all tend to be professionals who are working, is that right?

Yes you are correct about professionals here in Taiwan, especially lots of English teachers. I remember seeing some rowdy folk in Itaewon, but was limited.

 11 months ago  

Some friends of mine were teachers in Taiwan for a year or so and no offense, but they said they got pretty bored. They did manage to save a lot of money though!

 11 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ