Binondo, Philippines | 🏮 Lucky Chinatown Mall 🏮

✨🎇 gōng xǐ fā cái! 🎇✨

Happy Chinese New Year! 🎇

Hello, Asean Hive Community! ✨

Since it was the Chinese New Year last Saturday, I want to share my trip to Lucky Chinatown Mall, a popular mall in Binondo, Manila, Philippines.

Binondo is the oldest Chinatown in the Philippines, and probably in the world. It was established in the year 1594 by Spanish Governor Luis Pérez Dasmariñas. It was the settlement for the Chinese immigrants back then.

I found a simple guide here if you happen to visit Binondo.

I had the chance to visit Binondo before Chinese New Year and my purpose of going to Binondo was to buy some home cleaning stuff since Divisoria is known for the drop-off point of goods which means way cheaper compared to those in malls. The items are the same and since they are displayed in malls, there is an added markup.

4luckychinatown.jpg

I cannot take pictures of me canvassing the goods because, I swear, it is chaotic and I was being cautious of my phone. 😅 As I said, there were a lot of people since this is the drop-off point of goods.

This is 168 Mall's food court. After a lot of walking, we finally got to the floor. Sixty percent of the shops were selling Chinese food.

2luckychinatown.jpg

1luckychinatown.jpg

My friend and I were looking for some Xiao Long Bao. This is the dumpling that I can't have when I have the opportunity to visit Chinatown.

The first kiosk we inquired about is Wai Ying Dimsum. They do not have Xiao Long Bao. They have wontons, siopao, siomao, and paos, but not the soupy dumpling that I want. 🥲

3luckychinatown.jpg

Beside 168 Mall is Lucky Chinatown Mall. It is just a few walks away since they are adjacent to each other.

This is a mall-looking establishment compared to the prior since they sell branded goods such as Nike, Adidas, King Chef Seafood Restaurant, Subway, Bruno's Barbers, etc.

6luckychinatown.jpg

5luckychinatown.jpg

19luckychinatown.jpg

This is the side of the mall where you can dine al fresco. They have an outside kiosk and tables for dinners.

18luckychinatown.jpg

I really felt I was in China with these beautifully decorated shops! 🙌🏻🥰

23luckychinatown.jpg

Sugarcane juice is popular these days. Does it mean milktea is out? 😆 Kidding aside, Mei Ying is a good choice if you want to try. It was recommended by a friend that I am yet to try.
17luckychinatown.jpg

They had a lot of customers already lined up so, I had to pass since we were past hungry and exhausted, we just wanted to sit and order.


9luckychinatown.jpg

21luckychinatown.jpg

22luckychinatown.jpg

Parasol and red lantern decors 🏮 A statue of a guardian Chinese lion. It is a belief that whoever puts this on the entrance of a home or building shall be protected.

8luckychinatown.jpg


This is the first thing you see upon entering the mall. For the Chinese, wearing and decorating something in red on the new year brings good fortune and prosperity.

The hanging red lanterns look small in the picture, but in reality, they are pretty big. I can say the lantern measures three feet in diameter.

Aside from the hanging decors, the mall displayed some artworks on a red carpet. I wonder why nobody is interested enough to take a peek. 😅 Maybe everyone has their errands.

13luckychinatown.jpg


The restaurant of our choice for the day is Shin Lin. Before we seated we asked if they had xiao long bao.

The staff delightfully said that they had it in stock. I learned my lesson in Banawe last year because xiao long bao is so popular a resto ran out of it. 😊

12luckychinatown.jpg

11luckychinatown.jpg

The staff were very attentive and friendly.

They gave us their menu and while we chose our food, a staff was standing beside me. I was guilty of making the wait, hehe. 😅

10luckychinatown.jpg

We ordered two baskets of xiao long bao in 10 pieces (11.43 USD), a pork bun (2.95 USD), two Taiwan milkteas (4.64 USD)
1 USD= 55.99 PHP as of writing this.

14luckychinatown.jpg

16luckychinatown.jpg

This bun is worth every bite! Soft buns, savory pork with a little zesty veggies. Ahh~ I think I found another favorite Chinese food! 😋

15luckychinatown.jpg


We were happy that we accomplished our purpose of going to Binondo, and were stuffed with delicious Chinese cuisine! 😋🥰 Glad that we visited before Chinese New Year or else, this place will surely be packed! 🙌🏻

Thanks for reading~ 💖


That is it for this blog. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited. ©️jijisaurart

👾 NFT Showroom: nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
🥰 Open for commissions. Please DM me on Discord at jijisaur. 🥰

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jijisaurart.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Lumipas na pala ang Chinese New Year, diko na namalayan ee (≧▽≦).

But Bonondo Chinatown Mall looks really amazing. When ko kaya mapuntahan yan. Kahit wag na sa china, basta dito nalang haha. Some vloggers feature some shop fron there na din ee. Yong iba is pinipilahan din talaga. And im really curious to that xiao long bao. Napapanood ko sya ang ang weird coz it has juices sa look. Pasong paso ang dila mo if ever dali dali ang subo haha. Pero masarap daw sya ee.

Yeah, it was the Chinese New Year last Saturday. 😊

And im really curious to that xiao long bao. Napapanood ko sya ang ang weird coz it has juices sa look. Pasong paso ang dila mo if ever dali dali ang subo haha. Pero masarap daw sya ee.

Yes, it is piping hot so be careful! Haha. When it is broken, the staff will change it to new one. 😊

!PIZZA

why am i thinking that you really are chinese madam ji 😆 hahaha

because of you im so curious of what xiao long bao taste like..

i don't know if this place is the same one arc and carl went to.. 🤔 or is it different?

I wanna come to this place.. New to the eye for me 🥹

why am i thinking that you really are chinese madam ji 😆 hahaha

Oh, I just love xiao long bao! 😊😆 Xiao long bao is brothy with the perfect balance of the filling! 😋

i don't know if this place is the same one arc and carl went to.. 🤔 or is it different?

I think this is the same place if you guys have been to Ongpin.

!PIZZA

Tumingin ako sa tiktok pano gumawa ng xiao long bao hahaha simple lang pala ang process pero 😅 i feel like its best to taste it first then make it.. To see if ill make the same taste..

Oo sa ongpin.. Di ko lang knows na binondo tawag.. Ahahaha ive been there ~ wish to come back

Tumingin ako sa tiktok pano gumawa ng xiao long bao hahaha

Me too back before I was curious how to make it nako, with the hands I have I doubt I can make a single bao hahaha

Oo sa ongpin.. Di ko lang knows na binondo tawag

Yes, yes! 😊 Ongpin is like the street, Binondo is a municipality of Manila City. 😊

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jijisaurart tipped scion02b
jijisaurart tipped solumviz
@jijisaurart(3/10) tipped @john0928
jijisaurart tipped ruffatotmeee
jijisaurart tipped judetheartiste
jijisaurart tipped cthings

ohhh the wai ying place is still alive 🥹 I love their dumplings. and if you wanted good xiao long bao, you should have asked. those are rampant in ongpin street. and you should have tried the chow mien and frog legs in estero de binondo 🥹 top tier seafood right there, i tell ya

I'm always in Binondo to find cheaper stuff yet never been to Ongpin. haha. I should pay a visit for a food trip next time. 😊

Oh, no, pass for the frog legs for now. Hehhe.

i think you'll like ongpin cuz the good bakeries and dumpling places are there OwO that's my go to for food in manila

 7 months ago  

Thanks for touring us around in the blog! Been years since I've been to Lucky Chinatown but I haven't roamed much of it. I've heard parking rates there are too expensive hehe.

Shi Lin is a Taiwanese franchise, available in major malls. Hopefully you would be able to find a much more local xiao lang bao shop. I love those too! If ever you'd be in Makati (along Buendia), try LaoBeijing. :)

Yes, the rate for parking is expensive but it is convenient since LCT, 168,and 888 are all near by. 😊

Yes, I've tried Lao Beijing many times in their Makati branch, and also blogged it. 😊 They have the best milktea imo. ☺️

!PIZZA

Another resto to try in Manila!!
I totally get you about using phones there, esp in Divi 🤣

When you know, you know in Divi! 😆

!PIZZA

Jijisaur art to jijsaur the food and travel blogger haha. I need to get some dumplings. Never had one before.

Hahahha 😆 my brain buffer from art stuff. 😊

!PIZZA

I need to do something like this soon. Can't seem to find a nice place to go hmm...

Yes, please! 😊 I want to know more of India from a friend's perspective. 😊

Sure sure hehe. I'll post when I see something interesting.

Nag ganda naman po diyan sa binondo chinatown, sobrang raming mga paninda😊 and mukhang masarap po yung buns pero ang mahal🤣

I went to Binondo before Chinese new year and so, many decors were on display. 😊

Yes, expensive food but totally worth it. 😊

!PIZZA

 7 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you so much! 🥰