My Vegan Masala Chai Recipe ☕ Because Plain Tea Is Just Boring 🤷‍♂️

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITYlast year

My daughters have been begging me to make masala chai for them to take to school in the morning, so I decided to prepare it the night before. I think they prefer iced chai, so this gives me the time to chill the chai in the fridge so they can have a refreshing drink at school during the heat of the day.

This recipe is plant-based and makes use of soymilk which you could easily exchange for the real deal if that's your thing. However, if you choose to use plant milk substitutes, be careful what you choose. Rice milk will create solids, on the bottom of the pot, basically chai cheese, and oat milk will thicken when heated, creating a chai porridge, so I recommend you stick with good ole' plain soymilk.

image.png

☕ Masala Chai Ingredients ♨️

  • water | 4x cups
  • soymilk | 2x cups
  • loose tea | 2x tablespoons
  • cardamom pods | 4x
  • star anise | 2x broken pieces
  • ginger | ping-pong ball sized piece
  • whole black peppercorn | 10x
  • cinnamon stick | 1 x big piece
  • fresh mint | 1x handful
  • palm sugar/jaggery | 4x tablespoons

image.png

👨‍🍳 Preparation 🔪

STEP 1

     Bring the 4 cups of water to a boil in a pot, and while waiting for the water to boil, grind each of your whole spices individually. I don't smash the cinnamon stick, but I do break it into a few pieces, but I do like to crush the ginger a bit after thin slicing it. Add each of the spices to the pot as you finish them, then add the mint and cinnamon stick.


STEP 2

     Cover with a lid and bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer 10 to 15 minutes.

     You can boil the spices as little as a couple of minutes if you are scared of spiciness, but after 15 minutes it does no good to simmer any longer because most of the flavors have already come out.


STEP 3

     Now add the tea leaves and simmer another 5 minutes. It is most common to used gunpowder black tea when making masala chai, but here in Cambodia we don't have it, so I make use of a Cambodian loose green tea, and it works very well.


STEP 4

     Add the soymilk or plant milk of your choice and slowly bring back to a simmer. When the chai reaches a simmer, increase the flames to double-boil your chai. This basically involves rapidly boiling the chai until it nearly foams over, then removing from briefly and repeating the process. This helps the chai to be frothy and creamy, and if you don't like this method you can simply pull the tea by pouring back and forth between cups just before serving.

     Strain the chai through a colander, add the palm sugar and stir until it dissovles, then serve immediately.


☕ You Just Made Masala Chai Yo' ✊

     I apologize for the lack of quality photography in this post, but I did make this at 1am and our house only has one light bulb in the kitchen. My daughters leave too early in the morning to make chai before they leave, plus they prefer it chilled, so that's why I've made it in advance. I snatched a couple hot mugs for myself before setting aside the rest for my daughters.

     Experiment until you discover your own recipe. Some folks do a 1:1 ratio with the water and milk, and others like me do a 2:1 ratio like I did in this recipe, mostly because it's more economical. Also, experiment with other spices like fennel seeds, fenugreek seeds, black cardamom, saffron, etc., until you find the right magic for your mouth.

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@Srey-Yuu
Monkey B
@Sakana
Sort:  
 last year  

Thank you for sharing what you enjoy , the Masala Tea. I could say those were not a thing here in my place. We are not tea people but coffee, chocolate or the cocoa drink which are the available. This is a must try for me, and to discover another taste.

 last year  

Masala chai is so rich and tasty that it even wins over non-tea drinkers. I also like to use the same spices, but in preparation of a masala coffee instead of tea.

 last year  

So if its coffee, I'll just change the tea to coffee grounds.That would interesting. The other spices are not commonly used here like the cardamom, not sure what the local term is. I think the supermarket has it, I have to search for it.

Thanks for sharing your recipe! I have ground black pepper and ground cinnamon, but I'll have to buy the other spices. I doubt palm sugar is available in the one-horse town nearby, but I think unprocessed cane sugar would work nicely! 😋
 last year  

Cane sugar is fine, and honestly most restaurants use plain white table sugar, but there is a richness that unprocessed sugar provides that compliments Chai much better, and demerara or cane sugar are gonna be much friendlier than white sugar. Cardamom may be hard to find in your area, but it's crucial. Usually they will be in a tiny glass jar and very expensive, but if you can find them at an Indian store you can score a half pound for the same price.

Very good and detailed ingredients and processing documentation, made it up to the low lighting and still manages to make me interested in reading the article and I will try making the tea myself. Thanks for sharing.

 last year  

Thanks for not minding the bad photography condition, the tea was no less tasty because of it 😁🙏.

I salute you because you are a father figure who cares about your family and your children. What else do you want to take the time to make chai milk for your child as a provision at school.👍👍

 last year  

Thank you for the kind words my friend. The girls like taking the chai to school but their friends think it's a strange spicy drink because Cambodians don't generally like things like this.

Wow, of course, very delicious cooking, and of course, the children are very happy, congratulations on being the best mother for your children and always giving the best for them.

 last year  

Haha, thank you my friend, I love doing nice things for my children, but I am a father, not a mother 😁.

It is wonderful that you make chai for your daughters so late at night✨

I have had chai before but never knew how to make it. It has a variety of spices in it and looks healthy!

 last year  

It is such a lovely drink, and the spices provide any health benefits, but it is a bit heavy on sugar. It is possible to drink without sugar, but the spices become much stronger and the flavor is a bit bitter.

Thanks for the reply. I am interested in your country as my husband visited Cambodia on business at the end of September and shared some interesting experiences there. I look forward to your posts😀

 last year  

That's very interesting, I'd be curious to know about his trip here.

Drinking tea is healthy.
At home I always make my own recipe.
Happy to know you learned so much about life, you're a well-rounded person.

 last year  

You might be the first person to ever call me a "well-rounded person," I'm going to claim that one with great pride 😉. I also like to make this same kind of recipe, but with coffee instead of tea, also a nice treat.

You are because you can do a lot of things that other fathers can't. ☺️

I was just thinking of chai. Now it's confirmed I have to make it. I have more black tea then I know what to do with and never use it.😊

 last year  

Sounds like it's meant to be, especially considering it's Canadian winter, I'd need more than chai to keep me warm, add about 6 blankets and a space heater ☃️.

That looks like a delicious cup of tea. Would love to try that soya beans milk.

 last year  

Very easy to make if you have the spices already at home.

 last year (edited) 

This time, I'm attracted by the owl cup more than the tea itself 🤣

 last year  

I like how just in case you didn't know it was an owl, the cup says "OWL" to remind you. True Cambodian style would be to have an owl on the coffee mug, but the text reads "Facebook Dolce Gabbana" for no reason whatsoever 🤣.

 last year  

Totally get it. We have shirts that printed a huge LV logo and a fine print of "Window page file overflow" in an elegance font. I just can't take a photo of the very sexy and trendy girl who wear it on her absolutely stunning body.

 last year  

Chai is my always favourite and you make masala Chai this is awesome

 last year  

It is a legendary drink, and especially tasty when homemade because we can tailor it to our tastes. Unfortunately I have no fennel seeds at the moment, that is one of my favorite spices for this tea.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @justinparke.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  Reveal Comment
 last year  

It is so very tasting and warms you from the inside, highly recommended.