You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fried cricket

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 years ago

Also a common snack in Cambodia. I would've tried them if I wasn't a vegetarian, but for me I would rather eat fried crickets than a piece of chicken or beef. It seems much more palatable to me. At night in Cambodia, a common sight is UV lights atop vertically stretched tarps used to catch crickets.

The crickets attempt to fly to the blacklight, but they hit the tarp and slide down into water bucket, and the cricket farmer must check the buckets often or the crickets will drown and not be edible. Do people in Myanmar catch crickets with UV lights too?

Sort:  

Are you a vegetarian? Good to hear that and I want to be but I can’t do it yet.I'm a little sorry for you for my post and I’m glad to hear that if you are not vegetarian you will try cricket than other meat.Thanks for your kindness to my post 🥰 I’m not sure Burmese cricket casher farmer used UV light or not.I’ll search and tell you later.When I was young,me and my family visited to the village and at night a lot of villagers only male went to the forest and catch cricket.This is all I know about catching cricket ha ha😂😅 I’m pretty sure I will research it .

 3 years ago  

Yes, I am vegetarian. Here is an example of the Cambodian cricket trap. You could make one yourself very easily, only need some plastic tarp, bamboo, and a UV light for the top at night.

image.png

Oh that’s look easy!Thanks your sharing and I will find Burmese catcher’s too🤔