You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People who abandon their dogs are the worst

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

All reminders why I've never taken on a dog in Southeast Asia, cause I don't have the funds to fly with a dog around the world nor do I have a stable enough life in Cambodia to know I'd live there trouble-free until my dog would pass. I did have two dogs when I went to Cambodia in 2010, intending only for a month-long holiday.

Talk about depression, my beagle-mutt was 25+ years old at the time, and my golden retriever 17+ years old when I left. They both died while I was on vacation, my mom had to put them down 12 hours apart because they just gave up on me I think. I am still heartbroken about this decision to this day.

27 years with my dog, never more than few days apart, and then I wasn't able to be with either at the end, nor bury them. I digress, I have rambled, but I think now we've turned sheep lovers after our experience in Suriname with Harry.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

ramble on. It's nice to hear these stories. Your family dogs lived good lives with a caring family and I am sure you have lots of good memories. Our family dog passed away while I was gone as well, so I can share your sentiment as far as wanting to be there is concerned.

You have the right approach as far as being aware of your financial and geographical limitations on pet ownership is concerned. More people need to approach the situation in exactly this fashion.