🥁 "Spirit Of Vincennes Rendezvous" 2023 ⛺ Part 3 (With A Slo-Mo GIF)

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY11 months ago

This is my last post about the Rendezvous festival in Vincennes, Indiana, celebrating a little George Rogers Clark history and other 18th century Americana.

Move Over Gucci 👔

cvcv.png

     I always wondered why there were no squibs hidden in the clothing of the battle re-enactment participants, and when I saw the price tags of the handmade period clothing sold at the vendors, I quickly realized why.

vbvbvb.png

     With prices ranging from $100 to $800 and up, it's obvious to see why these LARPers are careful to not even get so much as a grass stain on the fabulous uniforms when taking a fall during battle. I think if I ever participate in Rendezvous I could only afford to go as a deranged homeless man, because a pair of 18th century underwear and slippers is about all I could afford 😁.

Iron, Copper & Pelts 🧲

fvgbhn.png

     When I went to this festival as a young boy so many years ago, the main thing I remember is leaving with a raccoon-fur hat, and I wore that thing for many years, fancying myself as a Daniel Boone or Davy Crockett, local folk heroes from my part of the USA.

nmnnm.png

     Every vendor specialized in a few things, and I was surprised to not see many hawkers selling the same stuff because most of it is handmade small batch stuff. Above in the blue t-shirt is my friend, standing in the typical "impatient husband pose."

njnjnj.png

     $385 is the price of the above piece in case you think your eyes are deceiving you. It is ultimately little more than a burlap bag with sleeves, but I get it, the USA is expensive and all, and coming from Cambodia I am simply obsessed with the prices of everything there.

Weasels & Drummers 🦦

qwqw.png

     I can't verify whether or not any actual weasels were selling silver, and also if dancing was involved, but the sign caught my eye, and I guess that is the whole point of this branding.

dede.png

     I gotta admit that the highlight of the battlefield action was pretty much the slo-mo GIF in the thumbnail. I did take several videos of the battlefield action, but I was so far away and only using an iPhone 8, so the footage just isn't good enough to zoom or crop. Well, at least participants wander the grounds, allowing for more closeup interactions and shots.

Honey Time 🍯

nnnnn.png

     When my friends saw an 18th century vendor selling 2023 honey, they decided they needed a bottle. It was a good photo op, especially because the Mrs. Honey was wearing a bonnet. You just don't see bonnets in public anymore around here that aren't on the heads of Amish folk.

Paw-Paw 🌱 Indiana Cousin Of The Soursop

rft.png

     There is a tropical fruit found in Indiana believe it or not, and it is closely related to the soursop, something I love to eat here in Cambodia. I once read somewhere it is the northernmost occurring tropical fruit, but I couldn't verify that info for this post. Two genetically different trees are required for pollination and fruiting.

weryu.png

     My friend already had one in his backyard, and this guy was selling some paw-paw seedlings, so it seemed like a good chance to bring some new DNA to his backyard and allow his trees to produce some fruit. The fruits are like a cross between mango and pineapple, out of this world, but quickly ripe and rotten like noni, so they aren't commercially viable.

Drummer Boys 🥁

asdf.png

     There were a lot of wandering drumming brigades, not sure if that's what to call them perhaps drumming gangs, drumming squadrons, I don't know, my English has deteriorated after 15 years outside the USA. Either way, the above shot was another wandering flock or nest of drummers that snuck up behind me while I was browsing.

xcxv.png

     When not being spooked by a surprise drum roll from behind, my friends checked out some rugs. The rug weaver herself was in action on the loom in the tent making rugs in real-time to let you know the operation is legit 18th century style. Oh, and if you're still at the end of this post and the final part 3, I would like to leave you with a strange factoid.

     I noticed the battle LARPers weren't aiming their guns at the opposing forces during the simulated shootout, and I didn't expect direct aiming to be honest. However, I remember as a kid that the soldiers aimed roughly at one another, so I asked around and was told an injury somewhere in the country changed the safety procedures. Apparently the small pieces of cloth stuffed in the rifles to provide backpressure for each blank shot, well one of those cloths took a man's eye, so I guess sim battle became a little too real.

     Now battle re-enactors aim for moon, and the aim is so far off that it's comical, and I hate to admit it actually took away something from the feel of the simulated battle. Well, that's the best story I have from the whole thing, so I leave you with that and conclude part 3. THE END

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@Srey-Yuu
Monkey B
@Sakana
Sort:  
 11 months ago  

If I ever have a chance to attend this event, I'd go with my racoon suit

 11 months ago  

I would love to see that. Instead of being a trapper and selling pelts and furs, you could actually be an 18th century 'Merican raccoon. I would like to find some of the old pajamas that had a button butt flap in the back, perfect for late night outhouse trips.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @asean.hive.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 11 months ago  

🙏🙏🙏

Congratulations @justinparke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 27000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 28000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!