A New Beginning - Just A Bit Of Homesteading!

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 years ago (edited)

3.jpg
Grown onion bulbs planted 2 weeks ago

Hello Hivers and Friends!

Today, I am happy to share my container garden.... the same old thing I did when I still have my old garden in our former row house. We are aging and have health priorities and we thought it over and over again before we moved into this new flat. I am so happy that we did relocate. We have lived in our former house for almost 30 years and I should say that moving to a new home was the best decision we made. The problem is when you are aging (LOL!), you have to consider your health. I had been a corporate slave for so many years and at that time, I thought of quitting my job and move to a rural area. But, I had to think of my retirement too, so I worked until I got my retirement.

lettuce 7 A.jpg
Source

AUBERGINEs.jpg

Container Gardening

I have fun with gardening in containers... I am used to it in my former house because I did it on the top terrace to avoid slug invasion. I even planted my lettuce in cracker containers and placed them on the roof. I have considered planting in big pots and have had big yields particularly cherry tomatoes, peppers and eggplants . Again above is an example of my eggplants in containers. It paid off, because not only did I have fun, it was also one way of de-stressing after a hard day´s work in the office. Call it weird or crazy, but I talk to my plants (LOL!). And just have a look at the image above at how all of my lettuce have grown nicely on the roof top.

9.jpg

For This season.....

This season, I started buying newbies of tomatoes, lettuce, pepper and eggplant as well as cuke (cucumber) too. I placed them in the balcony, but April had been too cold and the cucumber died-off even before it was planted. It seems as though that Spring weather is taking over slowly now. And so I started with my onions and I used strawberry wooden boxes . I only need the leaves of the onions for my green salad. And now, the onions are growing like they should be after I planted them 2 weeks ago. I got 3 onion boxes at the moment and they have grown tremendously.

1.jpg

4.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Raspberry "Offspring"....

Before I have cut my potted raspberry plant from the old house, I cut a couple of offspring that grew from the main plant. I gave one to my new neighbor and she planted it in her garden. Mine is still in container and soon I will get a bigger pot so I could transfer it.

IMG_20210405_180651.jpg

As you can see, it is growing nicely and is now branching out with green leaves which is a good indication that the plant is healthy. I will soon be sowing seeds of the cucumber and beans and will update next time and see whether I will be successful!

IMG_20210405_180645.jpg

All images in this post were photographed and are owned by @mers .

GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hello day, maganda ang tubo ng mga tanim mo. Yong akin nanguluntoy ang mga dahon ng stringbeans ko dahil yata sa init. Kaya I did the same with the other seedlings. Sa pot muna then transfer sa lupa pag malaki na.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @sarimanok for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 25

 3 years ago  

My pleasure. Thanks!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I love the lettuce and the raspberry! Ang taba. Kami Kamyas, Calamansi and Saluyot lang po hehehe. Yung mga Skyflakes box na utilize pa maging pot! Another nice post from you ate mers. ^_^

 3 years ago  

Thanks my dear @fycee.... pina pa taas ko pa HP ko, mababa pa anh upvotes ko eh.I hope soon.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @fycee for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Wow! Ka bilis mo naka tanim ulit. Ako start pala kay problem lagi ang two iro namo kalkalon mga gi tanim ko.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @jurich60 for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Maganda ang tubo ng mga tanim day. Ako need ata new set of organic soil kasi nanguluntoy ang string beans ko dahil sa init tas biglang ulan pero binigyan ako isang bunga ha. Lol!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Thank you!

 3 years ago  

Thanks @sarimanok for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 20

 3 years ago  

These vegetables are growing well. Good post!

 3 years ago  

Thanks @sreypov for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 5

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Thank you dear @sreypov... I am trying my best to plant my vegetables again in containers. I hope they tribe well and I hope too that our weather in Vienna will be warm already. It was very cold in April , normally, it should be warmer nowadays.... Thanks for dropping-by and for commenting. Have a nice week-end!

 3 years ago  

That is more than a container garden, you've got serious abundance there. Your efforts have certainly paid off.

 3 years ago  

Hello Justin!
This is for fun container gardening ´cause I want to see green all over the terrace. Our weather is bad again. Just the last night there was a huge storm breaking the 30 year old tree vis a vis our terrace. I wish it would be warmer again. Thanks for the lovely comment. Have a great new week ahead.

Congratulations @mers! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!