Oh My....13 YUCKY Beasts In My Potted Pepper + Tomato Harvest

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210802_164826.jpg

228264220_572515020596889_6585239387911438626_n.jpg

I planted my one and only pepper plant in a pot filled with new soil last April. I Have been wondering why the plant looked so pale all the time. It should have gotten plenty of buds already in June, but I was shocked today when I inspected the soil and discovered just by chance these yucky beasts. Whether they are good or bad, one thing I know is they were there all the time and had been attacking the roots of the pepper. I am not sure whether the mother bugs choose which pot /where to put their eggs .

226435071_532881217949690_4047246648176841572_n.jpg

Just take a look at the pepper below, I have been cutting off the leaves below because they looked not healthy. The plant receives feed and water. and the pot never got dried especially in the last days where the temps are in the 30°C.

226998974_153527786892903_1133134398691045467_n.jpg

I got nine of the first batch of these beasts , I forgot to take pics because I felt so bad by just looking at them that it landed in the toilet right away. Can be that they are good ones like the Rose Beetle I posted last time ( I do not know their type if bad or good), but they surely damaged the pepper, so I better eradicate them before it´s too late.

Tomato Harvest...

It was all clear that I have to harvest them now since they will get red in a couple of days on time for roasting. The 3 tomato pots seemed not infected by the larvae of the bugs.

IMG_20210802_164841.jpg

I think I would have to crush the beefsteak tomatoes since they easily become soft in a matter of days. I will press them and put in a jar. Before, I only used them for the salad. But since I still have to harvest many from one pot, I need to preserve them before they get spoiled.

IMG_20210804_093502.jpg

IMG_20210804_093511.jpg

IMG_20210804_093658.jpg

IMG_20210802_165125.jpg

The eggplants are coming out now, I have inspected the soil in the pot, they are not infected by these bugs. This one is a bit bigger now and other buds are developing. ...am crossing my fingers that this will still get bigger.

That ´s all for now from my container garden. I hope all of you

are fine, stay safe everyone!


GIF by @Gremayo.gif
Gif by @gremayo

Text and all images are owned by @mers.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 3 years ago  

Thank you.

1.png
You've received a HIVE upvote & Lotus tokens from the team at @naturalmedicine! We encourage and reward content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Get one with our free referral and start earning HIVE and LOTUS! Follow @naturalmedicine, @lotusshares, and @uplotus for challenges, newsletters, curations compilations, editorials, and more!
NaturalMedicine.io II Delegate II Community II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat
divider.fw.png
Bless up, @justinparke 💚


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

Thanks a lot @justineparke and @maturalmedicine for the curation and support... Happy weekend!

Those poor yucky beasts are beetle grubs, often some kind of scarab and they are normally found in compost heaps, where they do a great job of chewing up hard bits like wood. Unfortunately they do bite plant roots so they are a problem in pots

 3 years ago  

Hi @nikv !
Indeed, my husband said that we should put them in containers and let them grow into bugs or beetle to know their variety, but I always felt bad if I see them crawling. We have had so much problem with them in our former garden because they caused so much damage to our pine hedge, 3 or 4 trees got completely dry and the front concrete pots fronting my kitchen that also have young pines died because of the attack. We were wondering why they dried off and found out that the soil was infested with them... So we had to change the soil and got new plants.

According to researches, one can identify whether the bug is a good or a bad one depending on how they land on a surface. I always have problems with bugs by experience when a small bug got into my ear in the middle of the night during sleep... so painful. My dad sprayed an insect spray in my ear and the bug came out, the more painful because it was crawling on my eardrums to get out so fast from my ear. It was a nightmare so I developed a phobia and always cover my ear when sleeping.

Ugh! Sorry that happened to you

 3 years ago  

Thanks and Happy Weekend!

Gosh, what a huge bug! You have to check them everyday

 3 years ago  

I do not know whether there are still eggs or larvae in the soil, but I have checked deep and seems that was all. But I will check again tomorrow. Thanks for being here Anggrek.

 3 years ago  

Tomato overload!! That's terrible you've got a pest problem, but I really enjoy the sight of so many tomatoes. They've become increasingly rare and expensive here in Suriname, so we've all but stopped eating them lately.

 3 years ago  

Oh thanks, yep the tomatoes are plenty this season. I hope I have eradicated all pests... didn´t want to turn the potted pepper upside down to get the bugs since the pepper are growing now .

It is a shame that such basic vegetables such as tomatoes are so expensive there in Suriname, so sorry to hear that. I hope the market will get better there.

 3 years ago  

It grows very healthy ate, kahit nasa loob lang ng bahay.

 3 years ago  

Nasa balcony ko mga veggies, but only in summer... next season panibago na namang tanim.

 3 years ago  

Yay, they are called borers sa bukid ...

 3 years ago  

Nakaka takot, takot ako pag crawling na sila... lol!

Despite the bugs, looks like you got a great harvest of tomatoes which is a good thing, and that eggplant looks delish as well!

 3 years ago  

Hi @riverflows, the 3 tomato and 2 eggplant containers were not infested with these bugs.. I think I was unlucky to have bought a sack of soil that had eggs already in them. Appreciate you dropping-by , thank you and have a nice new week ahead.