You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beautiful Spanish Patio I would Love to Have !!!

They look amazing! I wonder if I could get some sort of grow room going indoors. I want lettuce in summer, for cool, fresh make, but lettuce likes cool roots. Currently all ours are going to seed. I only ever get them growing well in winter when I want warmer meals. 😕

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

If I would have the chance and space...I like to grow my salad greens and tomatoes using hydroponic system, you won´t need soil, just water in cycle and nutrients... But I would like to have it certified organic. One can even grow salad indoor with LED lights using this system and added to that grown them vertically to save space.

If you have heard about the Plastic tents in Almeria (Spain), most of the vegetables distributed in Europe come from there and most farmers use hydroponic system because of space issues. Most farmers in the EU are subsidised and are strictly regulated, so the farmers can´t just grow as they like.

I'd love to add aquaponics to our growing system (my husband loves fish). Just where to fit it, though...