You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am selectively stingy with certain things in my life

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY7 months ago

Phones have such little longevity to them that it really doesn't make sense to get the real high end ones. I felt that way about laptops for a while, but they're a bit more justified if you need portable power. Took me almost a decade to finally get a laptop because of frugality.

My phone is still some cheap Chinese pile of shit though. I've often thought of replacing it with something a bit better, but again that realisation that it'll be obsolete within two years doesn't justify the cost.

I'm frugal with just about everything though. I rarely buy clothes or things I actually need. My entire life can fit into a backpack!

Sort:  
 6 months ago  

I'm frugal with just about everything though. I rarely buy clothes or things I actually need. My entire life can fit into a backpack!

YOu and I have a lot in common my friend. I don't accumulate stuff anymore and most of my clothes are a decade old or more. I don't care much about fashion and am perfectly ok with that. While I am more of a hoarder than you my entire life fits into two suitcases and a dog carrier.

most of my clothes are a decade old or more.

Hahaha I can relate to this so much too. My girlfriend is always noting how everything I have has holes in it somehow. It isn't even something I really noticed until she pointed it out, for me it was just normal. I just keep clothes until they're completely gone.

The largest purchase I've ever made was the laptop I'm now using. I put it off for so long, but it was an essential item for working and travelling. It took me about a decade and quite literally making it a necessity for me to finally get one. I joke that I had to move through two countries in order to give in.

 6 months ago  

I think that laptops are one of the few things on the planet that it is worth getting a higher end one of. Right now I am using a cheap one because I had hoped that my gaming rig could be upgraded but I liked how lightweight and transportable my new much cheaper laptop is that I never bothered to see if I could upgrade it. It is currently sitting next to me in a chair being all but completely ignored.

Yeah that's pretty much why I took so long to get one. I knew I couldn't get a cheaper one, and biting down and paying that premium just felt horrible. That said, I love this thing so much. I can't wait to do more with it. Already noticing my productivity has increased.