Boosting the Self-Esteem and Confidence of the Future Electrical Engineers

How nice to see young people learn some life skills that they can use in the future! Whether they will use their skills to earn income for their own family or they want to proceed to tertiary level of education, both are commendable. If they proceed to college specifically, electrical engineering, then they have already their fundamentals. It would no longer be difficult for them.

My dear co-Hivers, in this blog, I'll be sharing to you what had transpired during the contest for Electrical Installation and Maintenance during the Division Festival of Talents.

The Unique Venue

But you may wonder why we are in this area here, not in a classroom or in a separate room. Why?

In the first place, the contestants need to mount their boards using nails and hammer. If they have to do it in a classroom, the room's integrity or strength will be affected.

So, considering that it was a sunny day, we chose to have the event under the big trees that already have big GI pipes installed for a hanger of heavy objects. So, that's it.

The other reason is, the classrooms were used for their classes and some were used for the other contests. So, we didn't have any more options.

IMG20231212165244.jpg

In these photos, you can see the presence of the two teams, each with two partner contestants. Also their respective coaches, for Fire Alarm System: Sir Allan and for the Enhanced Lighting System: Sir Merlindo. We also have the presence of Sir Paeng, one of the judges, and of course- yours truly,@natsve54...😊!

IMG20231212165337.jpg

Briefing on the Rules and Sharing of Real-life Experiences

IMG20231212115003.jpg

IMG_20231217_131750.jpg

IMG_20231217_131650.jpg

During the briefing with the participants, being the contest administrator, I asked each team-of-two if the have all the materials and tools as needed.

I also commended them for being chosen and trusted as contestants. In fact, I shared to them my own experiences when I was in college and how I supported myself on my own needs to pursue my college education by being an electrician.

I shared to them some real-life experiences during my college days. I told them that I had attended the training that started as Practical Electricity on the Air through the local AM Radio Station, DYCM, in the locality of the then Bogo (presently Bogo City), Cebu, Philippines and proceeded with the hands-on training conducted by the ISD Officer of Cebu II Electric Cooperative or CEBECO II, Mr. Al Escarro. He organized the trained electricians and he named it CEBEA or CEBECO II Electricians Association. I was a member of the association until I entered the Department of Education.

In fact, the student-participants listened attentively. Then, I assured them, that it really helped me a lot to pay for my tuition fees and other relevant expenses. Indeed, I finished my college education with the help of being an authorized electrician.

I encouraged them to pursue electrical engineering when they'll be in college. And, having a part-time work as electrician can indeed help them reach their dreams.

Lay-outing and Mounting of Electrical Fittings, Enclosures, and Devices

As each team started their tasks, they used nivel to get the correct level of the horizontal lines for their lay-out considering that the area was not leveled.

IMG_20231216_111028.jpg

IMG_20231216_111101.jpg

IMG_20231216_111237.jpg

IMG_20231216_111322.jpg

Setting-up of Electrical Wirings and Color-Coding

IMG20231212164047.jpg
I've noticed that the participants for the Fire Alarm encountered difficulty in pushing several wirings in the pipe. But, they still continued their tasks.

IMG20231212143605.jpg

Finished Product Testing

IMG_20231217_132836.jpg

IMG_20231217_132713.jpg

IMG_20231217_140217.jpg

Happy Ending

In this activity, we decided to have two categories: A and B. It's because, the teams could not compete against each other considering they have different diagrams to follow and they have different levels of complexity and different quantities and kinds of materials. In fact, all including our consultant agreed to my proposal. That's why, despite being tired, everybody was happy and inspired.

The Reflection

We, in the Department of Education, are here to assist our learners to achieve their dreams by enhancing and sustaining their potential. We further need to boost their self-esteem and never break their line of interest. Winning the life skills is the most important. But they can use it when they want to have National Certificate II or NC II.

So, we ended up the activity successfully with smiles on our faces. Before we departed, I wished them to become the best that they can be in the future.

That's all for today my dear co-Hivers. Thank you for your support. Bye...

Sort:  

Wow that was so nice. Enhancing the learning of the students through skills competition. It seems like what we were going in DFOT.Congratulations to all the participants.

Thank you mam. I'm really impressed everytime I see students who can really perform like this. It's really an income-generating skill.

 6 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you admin. Glad to hear your positive feedback. I hope I can do more blogs that can possibly be of the community's interest.

Congratulations @natsve54! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

It's the Christmas season: give your friends a gift

Thank you @hivebuzz for your update and for my new target. Hoping that this will be achieved through the support of the community. Thank you for the recognition.

You're welcome @natsve54. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅

Yes @hivebuzz. Hoping and praying to reach my new target.