You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Benefits of trying to live overseas that i have discovered in 3 years

Other than family and perhaps saving for a nicer retirement why would you go home?

I'm abroad (Canada) since July 2019 and the main reason I want to go home is family. Vacation days are more plentiful in Ireland but rent cost, employment opportunities are about the same and possibly worse by moving back. Travelling from Ireland, on short city breaks is more affordable too Vs air travel in North America and some food I am nostalgic for but overall Canada has good opportunities for me.

Sort:  
 last year  

The reasons why I need (not necessarily want) to go home is because job opportunities don't really exist over here in Thailand. The people I have met that moved here in their 20's and didn't leave don't have much quality of life... or any savings. I like living free and all that but I think it is irresponsible to not have any sort of financial security.

I'm happy things are working out for you in Canada, that's for sure.

Yeah that makes a lot of sense. It's better in the longer term to be more financially secure. I hope that your eventual move back works out well for you