Market Friday: Books, Books And More Books

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

I have always liked books and love to be surrounded by books. While I was in my upper secondary school, I always go the school library to study. I would cycle to the school library almost every day after my dinner to study there. It was also my habit to spend my weekends at the library to study as well. I would go in the morning during weekends, have my lunch at a nearby coffee shop, and return home only in the evening. My habit of studying at the library continued when I entered University. Most nights, I will be at the library either doing my assignments or studying. I am a bookworm in every sense of the word.

When I started working, I stopped going to the library. But my love for books continued and I like to visit bookstores instead. This is especially true when I am traveling. Often on my trips to Kuala Lumpur, my trip to a shopping mall is not complete without a stop at the bookstores. Being busy at work, I do not have much time for reading. But that did not stop me from buying books. I only stopped buying books around more than 10 years ago when my house library was so full that I could not find space to store my books. Since there are so many books that I had bought and yet to read, I stopped buying books completely.


The second-hand book sales was held at The Hills Mall, Kuching

Last month, I went to what was billed as the biggest second-hand book sales in Kuching. I was not disappointed when I arrived The lobby of the ground floor was filled with books.

All these used books were imported from the United States. It would be such a waste if these books were not recycled. I can't imagine these lovely books ending up at the landfill when they are still useful.

What impressed me the most is that there is a section offering books for free. I was a bit unsure whether the books are actually free so I asked a staff on duty. She confirmed that the books are free. On close inspection, these books are actually Christain books and so they are spreading the Word of God in this manner.

The books that were on sale were organized into different categories. This section stocks especially for children.

Some books are stored in plastic containers while others are displayed on bookshelves.


There are books on hobbies and crafts as well as D.I.Y.

Some of the books on travel may be outdated but I am sure a lot of information is still useful.


Books on parenting are also available.


Some of the books are from libraries in the United States, in this case the Dickson College Library.


The most interesting section to me is the Vintage and Rare books. There maybe some gems in this collection.

Although I did not buy any books (although I was very tempted), I spent more than 1 hour browsing. To a certain extent, I was quite sad the whole floor was almost empty. In the age of social media, is reading a dying hobby?

This is my entry for #MarketFriday by @dswigle

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Market Friday Community

This community is where you can post your experiences of shopping in markets around the world and at the same time sharing a bit of your culture. #MarketFriday is started by the loving @dswigle who has put in lots of love to nurture the community.

The Rules Of #MarketFriday! in the words of @dswigle are as follows

1.Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative!
2.Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
3.Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
4.Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
5.5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
6 Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
**7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.”

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Follow me and stay positive.

Look me up at You Tube
Please watch my previous videos.
Life’s Journey

Motivational Quotes To Inspire You To Work Harder

You Need To Ask The Question Why: The Power of Purpose

Motivational Quotes Especially For You

Happiness Is Reaching Out To Others During Challenging Times

Short Quotes For Inspiration

Motivation To Keep You Going
Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

Connect with me on Facebook

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Hive by re-blogging this post.

Sort:  

Wow, there are lots of books. If ever I got the chance to be in that bookstore, I would choose to buy the parenting and books for children... It's so sad that nowadays, there are only few people who are still into books, some especially those young generations preferred to hold mobile phones than the books.

Reading transported me into a new world. Back then, there were so few options then. Nowadays, books are so out of fashion. Thank you for dropping by.

I can relate to that. Since I love reading, it take me to other dimensions of the world too. It's my pleasure to read your blog.

Glad to know that we both share the love of reading.

I used to read ,now not anymore, no time . Don't worry in young génération there many of them who like Reading, don't worry.

Reading has brought me much pleasures. I hope that what you say is correct, that the next generation will not lost their love for reading.

Who loves reading, loves reading, young or old.

Reading I think cuts across all age groups. But I feel that the younger group is more distracted by social media and all the gadgets.

You are really a book lover @positivesteem. Reading books is fun and most importantly it will give you additional knowledge.

Yes, I am a book worm as well as a book lover. There is so much that you can get from reading.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you very much for your support.

 2 years ago  

I could spend my day there just browsing and maybe find me something interesting to read for sure with that wide variety of selection. It's good that they are offering free books too :)

Have a great weekend!

I wasn't sure that the books were free until I confirmed it with the staff. There are so many books and it was very interesting just to browse around. Thank you for dropping by.

 2 years ago  

I would be skeptical too. I mean free stuff are hard to come by these days :D

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @positivesteem.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much.

Congratulations @positivesteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Thank you so much.

You're welcome @positivesteem, it's well deserved! Thanks for your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍🌹

🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩

Thank you for dropping by.