An Unplanned Chicken Grill Party

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY4 months ago

It was around 8 PM when we (my wife, kids and I) reached Musi Village in north Bali where my parents-in-laws live. We have driven for one and a half hour through the forest of west Bali from where we lived in the south Bali. My in-laws were super happy to see us. My unmarried sister-in-law, and my three and twelve-year-old nephews, and a ten-year-old niece from a nearby village were happened to be there as well.

grilling chicken in simple firewood stove.

Out of nowhere, my sister-in-law suggested a chicken BBQ party. It was a bit late to start, I thought. But my wife said, "Why not?" Soon, my father-in-law picked a chicken, and everyone, including my sister-in-law's boyfriend, helped cut it up.

cutting the chicken meat

chicken grilling from a different angle :-)

the 3 year old nephew joined the chinken grilling

While the guys handled the chicken, the ladies – my wife and her two sisters – made a special spicy sauce (sambal) with shallots, chilies, lemongrass, salt, and coconut oil. (Note: Balinese sambal can be really spicy, you know) The guys grilled the chicken on a simple stove, filling the air with a delicious smell.

the ladies were making the sambal or the sauce

Amidst all this, we cracked jokes and laughed a lot. After a while, the chicken was ready, and the sambal was perfect. We gathered around, served rice from a basic rice cooker, and enjoyed our meal.

grill chicken meat and the spicy sambal were ready

To finish the night, we had cold soft drinks with ice. It was a simple, fun celebration. It might not have been fancy, but it was just right. Can't wait for the next unplanned party!

Everybody enjoyed the chicken grill dinner.

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

What a great party, the chickens make me feel greedy. Sometimes this kind of unplanned party turns out to be a lot of fun. Grilled chicken is my favorite.

 4 months ago  

Haha yes, it was the time also when I think I eat a lot more than what I am supposed to eat.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @putu300.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Sounds like a wonderful, spontaneous gathering with delicious food and great company! Can't beat those unplanned moments of joy.

 4 months ago  

yes. It was a great and fun experience. Thanks. Have a great day.

You are welcome.. Have a nice day too..

Congratulations @putu300! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 70000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
 4 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ