Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Some damage done, hammock huts will have to be disassembled and/or relocated to safer ground. I can't believe the rain is still falling, everywhere feels like sponge under my feet in the village.

Hope it all works out. I guess you were aware of this when you bought the land or has the weather become more extreme there too?

Your weather reminds me of the type of climate the survivavil experts in a reality show called 'Alone' have to bear with.

Out here, in central Portugal, it's the polar opposite, extremely dry and we're about to hit 35 to 40 ( and possibly 40+ Celsius ) for the second time this year, in a couple of days.

If you and I could exchange some of our weather and find a balance, that would be lovely.

 2 years ago  

I could use some Portuguese sunshine at the moment, this place feels more like Ireland the last few months. I think in the future the flooding can only get more extreme the illegal logging, there will be less and less roots to soak up the water in the mountains above us. This is the last forest of Cambodia, and the rate at which it is being destroyed is shocking. I just learned the "mreah prew" tree's oil is the main ingredient in ecstasy, and that cutting the tree or making oil from are all illegal in Cambodia, and it's nearly an extinct species. People in this village have dinner tables made from these trees because it's all soldiers here, nobody gonna stop them. Crazy to think somewhere on the mountainside a Vietnamese crime syndicate is overseeing the production of safrole to smuggle to Holland, a few online docs about it. Ecstacy Forest blew my mind, probably filmed somewhere close to us.