You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dabbing With a Historical Recipe: Lemon Balm & Carmelite Water

Alexander Dumas fed it to his Muskateers?!!! I had forgotten that. Read those books yonks ago. Thanks for the reminder about it being a sleepy tonic my go to is always the famous lavender and camomille and yarrow - because I have so much of it in the garden. I am grieved to say that - sniiiiiiiiiiff - I no longer have lemon balm ANYWHERE on the entire homestead. What survived the ant plague a couple years ago fell to the good intentions of my mother-in-law. She got a helper in under the instructions to pull all the "untidy weeds" from my herb gardens. These included peppermint (GASP) lemongrass and lemon balm. Shock and horror. We always call it bee balm because the bees love it. And now I need to find more. Which is not the easiest in our part of the world

Sort:  

Oh noooo... I recall house sitters pulling all my leeks once as they thought they were spring onions grrrrrrr......

I love how people call it 'bee balm' - I didn't know that until HIVe! Such a cute name. I hope you can find some, it really is gorgeous

The chickens eat my yarrow - I've had to fence it off!

What?! Why? Do they think it's a snack or would it be medicinal to them? My chickens don't touch the yarrow. The wormwood and curry bush on the other hand.....

I HAVE NO IDEA WHY CHICKENS DO WHAT THEY DO.

HAHAHAHAHAAHAHA

IMG-20190618-WA0016.jpg