Sort:  

Oh yes. She was German, so I presumed it was something passed down through the generations there, along with chamomile. What is upsetting is that that kind of knowledge has stopped somewhat. That's why I am keen to pass it on to everyone I know!

She was German, so I presumed it was something passed down through the generations there,

Those wily Germans know stuff. It's no coincidence that they were the ones who thought up Jägermeister ;) What a wonderful (and beautiful) piece of knowledge to pass on. I'm happy you shared it with us.

Haha my father jokes that German engineering is the best and they only ever buy German toasters, vacuum cleaners and even cars... Both VWs. 😂 I do like to think I channel my Nana's practical know how. I wonder where I get my emotional and wordy side from - maybe that's just my own.

In general, it seems to me that Germans do pay attention to the exhaustive details of a system, so they're good at designing the thing that goes in the thing that goes in the thing.

I wonder where I get my emotional and wordy side from - maybe that's just my own.

Maybe that's uniquely Australian, who in my experience, tend to be relatively extroverted. You do give me a Celtic vibe, so maybe your ancestors come from the wild pagan tribes of the isles 😄

Hmm maybe yes. Half English half German. Who knows. I'm actually more introverted than anything, with a facade of extro. I think that's also a me thing.